Training Plan Completed

Monday I noticed this was the last week of my half marathon training plan, trouble is the half marathon is not till October!
The last week, like all other weeks, was adapted, adjusted, manipulated and changed. With bank holiday looming, this week need to be squished up a bit. Wednesday saw me cycle 9 miles before work, run 3 miles at lunch time where I had my second close encounter of the bovine kind in a week and after school do intervals with Madam. My poor Garmin must have had the fright of its life as Madam took it for a spin, it’s never been so fast, and is not likely to again.
As I was following a half marathon plan and as this was the last week, then Sunday is meant to be ‘the race’. With no sight of a 13.1 mile run in the Devon area this week, it was time for me to run a solo race. The downside of this is that I find it hard to keep up the effort with the pace on my own, on the upside I was sure of a win!
The venue of my solo half was The Exe Estuary Way, the first 7 miles went quite well, then unfortunately things got tough, the miles got slower, the tummy churned and the back ached. The last mile was quite speedy but only because I was so desperate to get to the car!
The rest of my day was spent spring cleaning, oh I really how to relax on my day off!
Our weekend looked promising and exciting, parkrun, Devon County Show, trainer shopping for two and a king size bed to myself on Saturday night, not sure which part I was most excited about. But then disaster struck, The Devon County Show has been cancelled due to the car parks resembling quagmires after some bad rainfall, resulting on most attendees having to be towed out by tractor. Madam and I are gutted, not sure what plan B will be.
Now the training plan is finished I can only assume that’s it till October, no further trying required, trouble with that is June is around the corner and we all know that that means it’s an athon month, the question is am I in or out, I must really decide, as sitting on this fence is tricky.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Training Plan Completed

  1. iwalkicycle says:

    Ah you have to join up! I will….even though my entries as normal are going to be a bit repetitive – it does motivate me though! 🙂

  2. Tubontherun says:

    Nice job on your run! I am gutted the countyshow has been cancelled. After a rotten week at work I was really looking forward to it. Our plan B is rearranging tad kitchen, so I hope yours is more exciting!

  3. Oh no….cancellation of the DCS ! Booooo….understandable…but boooo all the same.

  4. I’m on the fence too but find that the athon helps me stay motivated even if I begin to sound repetitive. Congrats on the completion of the training plan hope you are able to come up with something to do this weekend! 😉

  5. Red Hen says:

    I’ve half done three Janathon/Juneathon challenges at this point. I suppose that means I’ve truly only done one and a half athons then. Even so, I’ve signed up for this one because it will definitely encourage me to exercise more plus I get to ‘meet’ some like-minded folk.

  6. winsometahn says:

    Join, join, join (if only so we can benefit from your posts and lovely photos) 🙂

  7. abradypus says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if you could train now for a race in October… *drifts off into daydream*

Leave a Reply

