Club Runs

Monday and Wednesday nights are club runs nights. During the winter these used to be around town, up and down hills, round the housing estates. Things changed after the clocks sprang forward. Now we meet at a disclosed location out-of-town to mostly run off-road, and I am loving it.

I get to see, unseen by me. parts of Devon. We have run through beautiful woods, along scenic cliff tops

Branscombe

on rocky tracks, through streams, over stiles, through gates. We have run past sheep, lambs, horses, rabbits, donkeys, we have dodged, sometimes not very successfully their waste products! I have seen bluebells like I have never seen before, carpeting woods, covering fields, growing in hedge rows, I am in love with bluebells.

Monday nights run, we were told would be muddy, I sensibly opted for black socks and trail trainers. On arrival at designated meeting spot I was informed that this is the muddiest route they do! Oh joy. Now I have written about mud here before on more than one occasion, but this mud was on a different level. It was marshy, boggy, DEEP mud. Running was tricky, walking dangerous as anything too slow meant you would get stuck. On more than one occasion I could feel the goo pulling at my trainer wanting to take it from me.

photo 5

This mud was knee-deep but oh it was fun, the screams, squeals and laughter must have been heard for miles. By the time we got to mile 1 not only had it taken nearly 17 minutes but I was already exhausted, my feet were squelching and my trainers very heavy. Fortunately the route was shortened to enable us to get home before dark! I can honestly say I have never been so muddy.

 

I drove home bare foot and left my trainers outside for two days in the hope they would get stolen! No luck there, so have just scrubbed them with soapy water and they are presently drying on the door step.

Great fun, great run, and the views amazing.

but remember to enjoy the view at the top we had to get to the top and we did that more than once. Running club tonight, can’t wait!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Half Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Club Runs

  1. Mud, mud, glorious mud, nothing quite like it for vacuuming your footwear from your person.

  2. Looks like a beautiful but tough run! I think I would take the soft option and hose the trainers and then put them through the washing machine. We have lots of lovely mud on the farm but doesn’t sound as tough as your muddy trail run 🙂

  3. TartanJogger says:

    Sounds fantastic and tough!

  4. Tubontherun says:

    A friend of mine used to belong to a Sidmouth running club and they used to have some great fun on super-boggy trails. It’s all preparation for parkrun 🙂 Hopefully that will be a bit drier this weekend though. Beautiful pictures!

  5. winsometahn says:

    Trail running with company sounds just wonderful – I’m very jealous!

Leave a Reply

