Off plan

At the beginning of each week, I check the training plan to see what treats it be holds for me in the up coming week. Last week when I checked I saw a 14 mile long run was scheduled for Sunday. I knew this was not going to happen with everything else that was going on, so decided to repeat the previous weeks training.

Sometimes life fits around running, sometimes running fits around life, this week however it has done neither. I managed two evening runs with the club, one interval session on tuesday and that is IT! To my great disappointment (and annoyance) I did not even manage a birthday parkrun today! Grrr.

Instead it was retail therapy with Madam in Exeter, enjoyable, but NOT parkrun. To add to my irritation yesterday’s bike ride has caused my foot problem to flair up, which meant I limped my way round the shops. Double Grr!

Pleased to report that a session with frozen peas has eased the foot, for the moment, but feel a Doctors appointment is on the horizon!

Monday is club run and having just had the car fixed we are meeting at the same car park where it was broken in to, not sure I shall go! If I do go however I shall be quoting this

20140503-194412.jpg
when we get to the top of the first hill. No I am not stopping because my lungs are about to explode, or because my legs are wobbling, or because my heart is pounding, or because my calves are screaming, NO I am just taking in my awesomeness!
Got to love having a ready excuse before the event! (My thanks to Runners Need for providing me with the excuse)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Off plan

  1. That’s a great poster/quote. I spent a happy while flicking through the gallery of those last week on Runners World. There was a very apt beer-related one on there that spoke to me personally!

  2. Ooooo…happy birthday 🙂

    It was mine last week. I didn’t parkrun then either.
    My lad’s tomorrow. We parkran today.

    • shazruns says:

      Happy birthday to NMOASS it’s fab having a birthday that usually falls on a bank holiday. Well done to you both for doing pr today, am envious!

  3. It’s so true that sometimes we plan our life around running but sometimes running has to fit in with what’s going on. Great post Shaz, helps to put it all into perspective…and I think we are awesome just for ‘keeping on keeping on’ with running and all the different ups and downs we go through…and that’s not just the up and downs of hills – don’t forget that hillitude!

  4. paigesato says:

    Happy birthday (belated)! Definitely a good reason to bask in your own awesomeness!

  5. Red Hen says:

    Belated birthday greetings from me too. I joined with you in spirit though as I too adapted training plan to stare at the horizon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

