Podiatrist

Armed with these

Black glovesand this

pegI set off for an appointment with the podiatrist. (Poor lady) She needs danger pay.

Recently I have been having trouble with my foot, which I have kept quiet about (unless you live with me) as it is a well known fact that if you talk about something it will get worse and not disappear. Encouraged by Annie’s positive experience I decided to by pass the Doctor and go straight to the podiatrist.

The young girl (0ld enough to be my daughter granddaughter)  was very good, she agreed right away that the bunion can stay where it is if it is not causing any issues, hooray. After much prodding, poking and pulling she could not really work out what the issue is. She agreed I could keep running but maybe ease off a bit in the mileage, she thinks it might be arthritis. The plan we came up with is, ease off a bit see how it goes, if it flares up again go to the doctors and ask to have an x-ray. Become best friends with ibuprofen again. Take the results of their findings back to her before letting them do anything.

I was very worried about what she was going to say but came away reassured and with these positive thoughts

  • I can still run
  • I am not doing more damage by running
  • The bunion can stay
  • The bunion is not causing any of this
  • There are worse feet out there than mine-she said so
  • The bottom of my foot is quite fleshy (she did not say fat) so I have not worn my sole away-yet
  • Possibly ultra marathons are not a good idea (phew)
  • Podiatrists are lovely people, well this one was she did not charge me!

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Podiatrist

  1. Red Hen says:

    Oh that’s great news! And free,eh?Here a to fleshy feet!

  2. abradypus says:

    Own up – you made up that bit about ultras just to stop me suggesting them to you 😉

  3. Good for you Shaz. I had to giggle about the gloves and the peg. I know what you mean about not wanting to talk about it. No one has been allowed to call my sore foot an ‘injury’ – it’s just a sore foot, that’s been my way of coping with it. It’s good to know that you can’t do anymore damage when you run – mine is like that too and it’s a question of managing it. So glad you went to see the lovely Podiatrist. They really are on our side and want to keep us running.

  4. You’re lucky, Shaz! My podiatrist is hell of a guy. Always telling me to get my bunion operated but I am frightened of any surgery. Can you give me the name and address of your podiatrist?

  5. Allen says:

    Wow free! She’s so nice. I hope I could have mine free as well. Hahaha! So what’s the final diagnosis? Was it arthritis?

    • shazruns says:

      Have appointment with doctor late in May will go from there. Thanks for asking. Think she did not charge me as could not help, but I did find it helpful, reassuring and know I can go back when I have X-ray done.

Leave a Reply

