VLM

Last year I ran VLM (Virgin London Marathon) and after collapsing through the door after the 3 hour car drive home I declared to hubby ‘a la Steve Redgrave’ if I was to mention entering London again, he was to shoot me. Which is why when I spotted this on the web thanks to the Daily Telegraph I had to smile.

‘Running a marathon is a bit like childbirth. You will hate parts of it, it will be immensely painful and you will swear to yourself NEVER AGAIN. Six months later, the agony all but forgotten, your brain will trick you into thinking it’s a good idea to do another one.

You can protect yourself against this masochism posing as athletic ambition by telling a broad selection of friends immediately after the race that, should you ever enthuse about doing a marathon in future, they are to prohibit such foolhardy optimism and channel it in a safe, healthy way. Like suggesting a karaoke night instead. Or that you buy a sports car. Or go out with a 20 year old.

You will then ignore them and do it anyway.’

This morning I was one of the 130.000 people who entered the ballot, this they closed in record time of 9 hours. I was that sure that I wanted to enter that I got up at 2 am to do so!

I am off to check the house for guns!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running, virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to VLM

  1. Sam says:

    Well you didn’t say “shoot to kill”, just get him to shot you in the shoulder and you can probably still train for it

  2. Having missed the ballot by 15 mins last year I set my alarm this morning so I was in at 6am 🙂 now we have to wait six months and can ponder on our insanity! Good luck 🙂

  3. Tubontherun says:

    haha! you mad person 🙂 If it’s any consolation, we’re out of shooting season! 🙂

  4. winsometahn says:

    Ha ha. I think I read too many blogs of not so great experiences so didn’t bother to set the alarm!

  5. winsometahn says:

    But good luck all the same!

  6. Exciting! I hope you get in.

  7. Good luck with the ballot! In the half marathon I ran this weekend one of my favorite signs said “This seemed like a good idea 4 months ago!” – and that describes in perfectly to me.

  8. abradypus says:

    Have you now hidden the firearms?

  9. Good luck in the ballot! Even though I vowed this year would be my last marathon, I’ve found myself registering for the ballot too!

  10. plustenner says:

    Ditto! I told my work colleagues to knock me on the head if I entered another marathon after my first one in 2010, well here we are 4 years later and another Brighton marathon entered 🙂 Good luck Shaz xx

Leave a Reply

