Local Runs

When you move to a new area I am sure most runners would look at local races and say, ‘I will do that next year’ however I find myself saying ‘I will never do that’ in fact it seems like that is all I ever say about local races. Not exactly a positive go get it type attitude is it? Let me tell you about the three races so far this year I have said this about.

1) The Grizzly.

Now the name itself puts me off. Anything called the Grizzly is not going to be pleasant. This is how it is described on the web site ‘Twentyish muddy, hilly, boggy, beachy miles of the multiest-terrain running experience you will find this side of the end of time. It’s by no means the toughest race around (honestly!),‘in the rules it says ‘participating in this event is potentially hazardousย ‘ which is reassuring!.This run starts on a pebbly beach and you run along this before getting up on the path, personally I cannot think of anything worse, I have been known to refuse to walk on a pebbly beach before as I find it so tricky, let along run on itย (I was pregnant at the time) Grizzly is THE run to do in the area, will I do the Grizzly ever? NO.

2) Exe to Axe

Last year and this year we have watched the runners partake in this race and having walked some of it I know how tough and VERY hilly it is. This is how it is described Just over 20 miles along the Coastal Path from the River Exe at Exmouth to the Rver Axe at Seaton. Not for the faint hearted! (My heart is very faint!) Please see picture below of just one of the hills, you go all the way up that and over the other side and this must be at about the 10 mile mark.

DSCN4093

I have not doubt it is a truly beautiful run, will I ever do it? NO

3) The Hippo

This is organised by my running club. It is something I looked in to last year but it was too close to VLM and the photos of people up to their chins in water put me off also. This is how it is described ‘A Tough Multi-terrain race with Roughly 7 miles of Mud, Sweat and Tears (Oh yes, the odd hill and 2 rivers thrown in too for good measure!). Last night we ran the route with the club (by passing the wet bit!). Now let me tell you even if I had entered I would now be saying to them that they could keep my entry and the rather lovely t shirt. Oh boy it was Tough. It is one of those runs that you must go in with the mind set that you would walk some of the hills or otherwise getting to the end is going to be too hard. By the time I got home I was muddy, tired and an extremely hungry hippo! Will I ever do the Hippo? NO! But I am helping out, making cakes AND sending Madam off to do the Hippo Calf a fairly hilly, muddy 1.75 miles. Far more enjoyable.

There must be a more gentle run in the area but have yet to find it.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Local Runs

  1. I agree – none of these sound appealing to me. I’m wondering if you live in an area full of crazy people?

  2. sudebaker says:

    Geez. And I thought Washington state runs were bad. We’ve got a Spartan run coming up this summer, complete with cement-pillar tossing, flame of fire jumping and all that. Yours sound much worse. Maybe it’s time to move? ๐Ÿ˜€

    • shazruns says:

      Now just the name Spartan would put me off and as to the rest of it no chance! Have considered moving but only been here a year, I think I will just travel far and wide to do races!

  3. TartanJogger says:

    Oh my goodness- those are tough runs!

  4. paigesato says:

    That hill is absolutely stunning. But I would never venture to run up it. You are smart!

  5. Lesley says:

    You could always move back to Essex, nice and flat!

  6. WalkToRio says:

    I’d like to try the Hippo.

  7. If you do move, can I have your house? Ta.

  8. Red Hen says:

    I’ve gone right off all local runs. Damned if I want them sniggering in the sidelines as I struggle to the finish line ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Tubontherun says:

    I am 100% with you on these! A friend has done all of them, but then she is a crazy person who runs ultras. I once walked from Exmouth to Budleigh along the coastal path, and then back along the cycle route, and running it is entirely out of the question! However, one day I would like to do the Jurassic Coast 10k which is around Budleigh and Otterton.

  10. Pingback: Dear Body | shazruns

Leave a Reply

