Running Technique

At last weeks running club session I was given some advice re my running style. I was told I expend too much energy by running with my arms across my body and twisting my shoulders. Basically he was saying I run like an American football line-backer, but without the ball or speed.

images

He did however go on to say that my legs were fine, which is not something I would ever say or have heard anyone else say, every cloud!

I was not surprised by this news and what he said totally made sense so since then I have tried to run with my arms by my sides and not twist my shoulders. It seems teaching an old dog new tricks is not going to be easy!

I was pleased to run Killerton parkrun this week with the lovely Mrs F who was down visiting for the weekend. It was a perfect excuse to run an easy 5k with her, (although she won’t thank me for saying so) chatting all the way. Oh okay so I was chatting, which was great, nothing more I like than a captive audience and a one sided conversation! She coped really well with the slightly hillier parkrun than her usual Chelmsford venue and even managed a sprint finish. I enjoyed sharing my parkrun with her, made even more beautiful by a lovely morning.

The morning was topped off by meeting  Jon from running buffet who had also done the 5K, we met cyberly through the athons and it was so nice to meet him in person, I was very pleased he came over to introduce himself. Hope to see him there again soon. If you get a chance check out his blog he recently completed a Year in Beer and is currently working his way through an A-Z of Devon food and drink, which as a new comer to Devon is giving me some great ideas of things to try and places to visit. (or not!)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Juneathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Running Technique

  1. winsometahn says:

    I’ve been working on arms recently too, though I think my legs need the most work – but arms seem more manageable!

    • shazruns says:

      Oh it is so hard I feel like a robot running with my arms at the side!

      • Jeff C says:

        Your arms are by your side, but bent at 90 degrees and swining (range of motion aobut from elbow/rib to wrist rib). The arms do move in good running form, just not side to side with rotating shoulders, but with relaxed shoulders and moving like and easy pendulum. If you try to keep them still you are also waisting (blocking) energy.

      • shazruns says:

        It’s the rotating and relaxing I struggle with thanks for the feedback

    • shazruns says:

      You see my legs just do their thing my arms I have to really think about!

  2. It’s not easy to change running style. All the best with it!

  3. paigesato says:

    That ole’ arm thing. I think I’m being cognizant of the side-to-side swinging, manage to correct it, but sure enough, when i see my photos from races, I’m all twisty up top!

  4. WalkToRio says:

    I have a bunch of bad habits when it comes to my form, which aren’t visible until I’m tired.
    I keep looking at my shadow to check on my form. It helps.

  5. Good to meet you too and thanks for the kind words about my blog. I will be back at Killerton again before too long I’m sure.

    Have you heard about Parke parkrun, starting on 5 April near Bovey Tracey? It will become my closest parkrun by a long way, which means that I don’t have to get up quite so early on a Saturday morning. Hooray!

    Does sound like there might be a few hills though. There’s a surprise…

    • shazruns says:

      Just read course description on BT my advice would be get up early and come to killerton, ‘climbing to higher path’ ‘steep slope’ ‘climbs gently’ (presume a Devonian saying that so would challenge their gentle!) ‘up the hill’ oh yes that sounds hilly! I will give it a go but not the 5th that will be my 50th Parkrun and want to do it at killerton. Good luck!

  6. I’m an arm pumper/twister too! I look at other runners and I don’t see them swinging those arms as much as I do. I don’t do it as much as I used to as I used to, but I have to consciously make myself relax my shoulders and shake my arms out to stop me tensing them up.

  7. abradypus says:

    Slightly hillier. Now there’s an understatement if ever I heard one!

Leave a Reply

