Tweaking and Flexing

Each week I look at my training plan and ‘tweak’ it, this week it seems I have tweaked more than other weeks, my training plan is my flexible friend.

This is what the plan called for

Mon Rest
Tue 1M jog, then 10 x 2 mins up hill, jog back. Then 1M jog at end of session
Wed Rest
Thu 6M (approx 66 mins) easy
Fri Rest
Sat 1M jog, then 5M fartlek, then 1M jog
Sun 10M (approx 1hr 50) easy

Thursdays run moved to Monday, but was only 5.5 miles long, Tuesday’s session moved to Wednesday, but was only 9 reps as I lost count, Monday’s rest moved to Tuesday, Saturday’s fartlek was completed today, Saturday will be Parkrun and Sunday might actually be ‘10M (approx 1hr 50) easy’, though I always dispute the easy bit!

You cannot imagine how excited I was about today’s 5m fartlek session, seriously whoever wrote this plan should be shot for cruelty to runners, I ask you a 7 mile run with FIVE MILES FARTLEK well that is madness. In line with my tweaking and flexing I opted to adapt the session to go slow up hill, slightly faster down the hills (surely this must count!) I only managed 6.5 miles before the rain, wind and tired legs took me home.

Tomorrow I shall rest because the plan says to do that!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Half Marathon Training, Marathon Training, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tweaking and Flexing

  1. Haha-I’m a “plan tweaker” too! I think being flexible is a good thing! 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, all the best for the fartlek session…feeling your pain!

  3. Red Hen says:

    A good hill run beats fartlek any day! Bonus points for running in wind and rain too!

  4. abradypus says:

    Don’t mess with the rest days. *Never* mess with the rest days 🙂

Leave a Reply

