New route at Killerton Parkrun

After two weeks where Killerton parkrun could not go ahead due in part to the weather, conditions underfoot and a fallen tree, the lovely people at National Trust and Parkrun have re rerouted the first mile to allow the 5k to go ahead.

This week was my first try at the new course, prior to the start I chatted with some runners who had done the new route last week, as ever with anything to do with running there was opposing points of view, one thought it easier another harder!

After the run I spent some time comparing the two courses and here are the comparisons

old

K elevation pic

new

K new

look at the difference in the first mile, no immediate up, right in to a long down, the course is the same from the start of mile two although on the graphics it looks different as I had to get the first one from the web as the Garmin site was not co-operating.

The we have the mile by mile break down

Followed by the overall elevation gain and loss

 

Do I like the new route? Yes, its nice to have a change of scenery, its bliss to start in to a down hill, its heaven underfoot not nearly as slippy. Both Madam and I did our best time so far this year at Killerton. Hope they keep it this way for a while.

Out of interest I decided to compare Chelmsford’s course elevation to Killerton’s following last weeks PB there…….

chelmsford elevation

no comparison really is there?

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New route at Killerton Parkrun

  1. Those are some hills at your parkrun!

  2. That’s great that they were able to re-route the course. A change of scenery always makes things more interesting too. 🙂

  3. We said that Devon doesn’t have hills, it has mountains!!!! I’m glad I stick to my bike!!! Well done x

  4. I love the graph of Chelmsford. That’s got to be one of the great things about Parkrun: although at its heart it’s the same 5k run, you can get different things from different courses around the country. I’ve only tried three different Parkruns so far, but they have all been different.

    Well done on the Killerton 2014 best time.

    • shazruns says:

      I love the extreme difference in the two elevation lines,. I love that each Parkrun has its own profile and really you should not compare one time with a time on another course. However I will be spouting the chelmsford time as my current PB!

  5. Red Hen says:

    I’m glad that its not so slippery and therefore, not as mucky. That doesn’t bother some people one bit, of course.

  6. abradypus says:

    But will the Killerton course change be permanent?

Leave a Reply

