Bin day Circuits

Now for those of you who don’t live in the UK, our little corner of England has been suffering from some high winds (90mph reported not far away), we have had some torrential rain and the coast has received a battering.

To give you some idea this is the before              the during

dawlish 2Dawlish3

and the after, at one Devon coastal resort!

after

Wednesday is bin day and my circuits started early with hubby bringing the news that the recycling bin had put its self and contents all over the cul-de-sac.

  • Circuit one:-dashing around the street in onesie and wellies retrieving, bottles, cans and paper from the neighbours gardens
  • Circuit two:- once day light retrieval of recycling bin lid, now it could be seen from the front garden
  • Circuit three:- once dressed, wellies, coat, hat on to move all three bins to the path, ready for collection
  • Circuit four:-wellies, coat, hat on, rescue small blue bin from road.
  • Circuit five:-dash out get soaked to replace lid on wheelie bin and turn against the wind
  • Circuit six:-Bin men have been, time to get two of the bins back before they end up in Dorset.

By 10 am I was exhausted, damp and fed up with the circuits!

Tonight was meant to be running club night, to do ‘training,’ I would imagine this was going to be something nasty like intervals, sprints or hill work. I was intending to go honest, but after all the rain we had, the village was cut off in two directions. We can still get out but its a long way round. I was worried about the flooding and getting stranded in my little yellow car somewhere so opted instead for a quickish 3 miles in the village before returning home to watch the storm devastation on the news.

Feeling grateful that we live on a hill and not on the coast, feeling sorry for all those not as fortunate tonight who are helpless against this storm and the mighty power of the sea.

(Photos thanks to The Telegraph, Wikipedia and BBC news)

during

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Bin day Circuits

  1. TartanJogger says:

    My thoughts are with everyone at the mo- I know what it’s like to be battered by gales and storms, and I wouldn’t wish it on anyone 😦 hope your weather improves soon!

  2. Sam says:

    Hope the storm doesn’t cut you off, well done on the 3 miles.

  3. madhat2014 says:

    Sounds miserable. 😦 Thinking about you.

  4. I was looking forward to your view of the weather!!! Love the ‘circuits’! I’ve spent the day ‘ out of county’ but my commute to Exeter may be interesting tomorrow, what with back roads flooded, trees down: I’m determined to avoid the motorway! Stay safe ☔️☔️☔️

  5. paigesato says:

    wow! amazing pics! Good circuit training, though.

  6. Hanna says:

    We saw the news on TV last night. Awful!! I’m glad Finland is located “behind” Norway and Sweden (looking from the Atlantic point of view). We do get our share but the storms never get that bad. Take care

  7. My mum forwarded me similar pictures. That railway journey is a lovely one. That won’t be rebuilt in a hurry!
    Glad you’re ok.

    • shazruns says:

      The destruction is incredible, very sad for all those affected. We had a day on the beach at Dawlish in the summer and every time the train went along the beach just behind us, it would toot and we all would wave how very British. Sad it has been damaged, hoping they will rebuild it soon and they I will jump on a train to Cornwall!

  8. I’ve spent many a summer in Dawlish – it’s a fab place. I hope it’s sorted and back running sooner rather than later.

  9. Tubontherun says:

    I’ve just seen on the FB page that tomorrow’s parkrun at Killerton is closed. Not sure if you have seen this yet.

  10. plustenner says:

    not good.. perhaps we can have bin circuits as a Janathon activity next year?

  11. Red Hen says:

    So glad I don`t live in a floodplain right now. These past few weeks have been particularly wet and stormy here too.

Leave a Reply

