Coincidence, fate or just plain meant to be?

Have you ever experienced where you have not really heard of something and then all of a sudden you keep hearing about it? Well that has happened to me recently.

  • A little while back I was driving one lunch time listening to the Jeremy Vine show and he was talking about Mesothelioma-a cancer known to only be caused by asbestos exposure. In particular he was talking about the increase of reported cases within teachers, due to the hidden asbestos within 3/4 of British school buildings. Exposure occurs due to pinning of work to walls, staple gunning displays and even the banging of a classroom door. This struck a cord with me as I had worked in a school (and done all of them!) and at that time asbestos was found in the building due to renovations, we were all advised to have this added to our medical records. Not sure I did to be honest and time moved on 10 years until I listened to Jeremy that lunch time and heard that in the years 2001 to 2005 there had been 100 asbestos related deaths amongst school workers, not just teachers, caretakers, cleaners, secretaries. Quite a statistic.
  • Then shortly after Christmas my work colleague and friend. told me her brother had been diagnosed with this cancer (he was exposed whilst in the Navy, the asbestos being in the ships) , aged just 48 the family is understandably reeling from the news and struggling to come to terms with it. Family time is planned and a sponsored bike ride. I am too far away to help but she knows (I hope) that I am at the end of a phone call, text or Skype, much love to her family.
  • Finally this week, bizarrely, coincidently or just plain meant to be I received a message via a comment on this blog. This was from Cameron Von St James asking me to spread the word about LungLivingDay. His wife was diagnosed with mesothelioma at age 36,  she had her lung removed to extend her life. They celebrate the day with family and friends to raise money, and to and I quote ‘ The purpose of LungLeavin’ Day is to encourage others to face their fears!  Each year, we gather around a fire in our backyard with our friends and family, write our biggest fears on a plate and smash them into the fire.  We celebrate for those who are no longer with us, for those who continue to fight, for those who are currently going through a tough time in their life, and most importantly, we celebrate life! Cameron asked me to spread the word here on this little blog, I was only to happy to help. Click on the link, read their story, write your fears on a plate and smash it!
  • Lung Leavin' Day 2014To Cameron and his family, I wish you well, to Mrs F a big X.

So was receiving the email from across the pond a coincidence, fate or just plain meant to be?

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coincidence, fate or just plain meant to be?

  1. Tubontherun says:

    One of my best friends works as an architectural drawer (I am sure there is a proper name for her job title, but that is what I understand it to be), and she was telling me about how many schools have asbestos in them still. I was really surprised! Best wishes to your friend – I can’t imagine how life changing such news could be 😦

  2. Red Hen says:

    I`d heard of asbestos being a health hazard of course, but I`d no idea it was this serious, nor this widespread among schools in Britain. Must go read up about that. And click on your link, of course. What a wonderful way to spread the news about a life saving operation.

Leave a Reply

