Penultimate Plod and Plans

The penultimate Janathon run was a 6 mile plod round the village at lunch time. Nothing much to report really, I saw two horse riders, plus horses. I managed to terrify Postman Pat in his little red van by appearing unexpectantly round a corner of the lane in my high vis and a nice white van man pulled in to a passing place to let me by, least I am hoping he was being nice in an ‘elf and safety kind of way, rather than an ‘oh my god she is as big as a car I better move over’ kind of way. It was a cold run so seemed apt that I saw these beauties for the first time this year.

snowdrop

Now with January and the lovely Janathon challenge nearly at an end its time to think ‘what is next’ I need a target, something to aim for. I am not one for entering masses of races but this is how it stands for the rest of 2014 and I do not expect it to change.

First

10k London

Next is

Blaise Castle 10k

Then

cardiff

 

and lastly the big one. Now last year after VLM I swore that I would hang up my 26.2 mile hat and stick with half the distance and then my Essex running buddy text me to say Chelmsford will be holding their first marathon in October, so looks like I need to find a marathon training plan soon and buckle down to the training ASAP!

26.2

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Marathon Training, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Penultimate Plod and Plans

  1. iwalkicycle says:

    W.O.W. Sounds like a good plan to me! 🙂

  2. Nice! I’m planning on entering one of the WR10K races too – I did London last year and it was nice. And you get cake afterwards.

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Did you mean white van man? Or is white man rare where you live????

  4. plustenner says:

    brilliant mileage! Had a look on the table of doom, 155 miles for January.. so tempted to do Cardiff again, but am already doing Reigate on 21/9 and Ealing on 28/9, so that would mean 3 in a row, and I am not sure I can cope with that many HM’s again! LOL
    When is the Chelmsford marathon? I will have to go cheer you on!

  5. winsometahn says:

    Everyone tells me I’ll love doing a marathon so I’m sure the same will be true for you too! Enjoy!!

  6. missyoungbob says:

    Snowdrops are popping up in my lawn too 😃 come on spring

  7. woohoo!! 26.2 here we come!! think we should run in white stilettos be more of a challenge and a right proper excuse for not breaking any records 😉

  8. paigesato says:

    that’s a pretty full race calendar!

  9. All the best with your planned runs 🙂

  10. abradypus says:

    The six mile plod is invaluable in any training plan – certainly features heavily in mine 🙂

  11. Hanna says:

    My next marathon (I have only run one) will be in May 2015. I like your funny way of writing and cannot wait to read about your marathon training. Good luck =o)

  12. runtezza says:

    Well done on all those Janamiles and roll on more sporting triumphs in 2014!

Leave a Reply

