LSR

Ignoring all sensible options and the weather forecast, I got up at 6 am, consumed porridge and headed out to run 2 hours on the Exe Estuary Trail.

This week I tried a new technique. No I still had to put one foot in front of the other, in the rain, that remains the norm. This week after parking at a local and very expensive farm shop, I ran out for 30 minutes towards Exmouth (south) then returned to the car, picked up my drink and headed towards Exeter (north) for 30 minutes before returning.

Miles 1 to 3 flew by, it spat and the wind blew.

Miles 3 to 6 were warmer with the wind behind me, but the rain got heavier.

Miles 6 to 9 the rain got harder and the wind blew in off the estuary, at one point when I was running along a narrow wall next to the estuary I was worried I would get blown off it.

Miles 9 to 12 I got slower and the weather got decidedly worse, pointy rain, sleet and strong wind. I longed for a cup of tea and a warm shower. I was drenched through to my not so ‘smalls’

This was a great way to split a long run down in to chunks, the first 6 miles flew by, shame about the last 6. Saw lots of nice doors, windows and turrets that will be making an appearance here soon you lucky people! The conditions today were not conducive to stopping and taking pictures, but I did get this one for you

photo

is that not the best cycle rack you have ever seen? Located outside a bird hive. (sorry Dad for bad grammar) Apologies for poor photo I was cold and very wet!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to LSR

  1. Pretty cool bike rack. Can’t wait to see more of your pics. I need a more adventurous running path that has some of these great scenes. So jealous!

  2. iwalkicycle says:

    Thought of you when we saw the weather forecast at breakfast, the whole of Devon was covered in not the light blue rain graphic, but the dark blue one with green bits! Well done on LSR

  3. Sam says:

    Well done on the run

  4. IronMum says:

    ‘Pointy rain’ – eek! Well done on getting the miles in, and esp for not just getting in the car and heading back home half way!

  5. plustenner says:

    great run, well done x

  6. Fab mileage…well done you

  7. paigesato says:

    a LSR in the pointy rain certainly trumps frigid weather. at least we have sun. Huge kudos to you on 12 miles in that mess (although the bike rack is pretty cool).

  8. Damn good idea that, park car run 3 out, 3 back one way, 3 out, 3 back other way … I like that, gonna give that a go me thinks ….. hmm now where to park the car? it’s not going to be as picturesque as down your new neck of the woods where ever I go!

  9. dadoorunrun says:

    getting up that early on a Sunday deserves a round of applause. I hope you came home to a hearty breakfast!

Leave a Reply

