Killerton Parkrun and beyond

This morning it was dry, Killerton House was looking nice in the sunshine.

photo 1

Although the weather conditions were good, the underfoot conditions were not so. Mud, mud and mud. For those of you that think mud is mud, well have I got some news for you. Killerton has many different types

  1. Thick gooey mud, this sticks to your trainers, saps all strength and energy from your legs as your struggle to stay upright, almost rendering you useless for the rest of the 5K, or maybe that is just me!
  2. Then we move on to the forest mud, equally sticky, equally gooey but without grass to get some grip on.
  3. Next is the hard mud, this is compacted and if you are lucky enough you can get some speed up, got to love it the hard stuff.
  4. Lastly is the messiest mud, this is orange, sloppy with large pond like puddles. This by far is the coldest and the most unavoidableist (new word) nothing to do but to run and splash your way through it and hope that you have worn your black socks.

After scanning and resetting the Garmin I headed off for an extra four miles. I discovered a nice bridleway. Gotta love a bridleway, wide, traffic free and whats more this one had no mud! Saw one other runner who ignored my beaming smile and I cursed her long lycra clad legs for doing so. Granted after 7 miles, a blister on its way and wet socks it might have looked more like I was gurning but still a nod would have sufficed if she could not  manage a smile, I got the impression that she was not so pleased that I had discovered her bridleway!

As I walked in the door at home I was greeted by two things 1) my parkrun time-wow        2)Madam informing me “I don’t understand my history homework Mum, in class we’ve be learning about some bloke called Magna Carta”! Clearly this is not her strongest subject.

photo 4If I lived here I could run to Killerton every Saturday!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Killerton Parkrun and beyond

  1. madhat2014 says:

    That’s what you get for stealing other people’s bridleways! What WERE you thinking??!
    Yay for 7 miles! 😀

  2. dadoorunrun says:

    good for you handling all that mud without coming a cropper

  3. Oh my goodness, such beautiful scenery… but you can keep the mud!

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Ah poo to the other woman, miserable thing. I quite often think it would be nice to live in either Broadclyst (oh to have the money!) or Pinhoe (a bit more realistic).

  5. plustenner says:

    haha, Magna Carta does sound like a name 🙂 Don’t you just hate those runners who are too high and mighty to greet you back?? Real runners always say hello

  6. That made me laugh. Kids eh?

  7. titchii says:

    Good work on the running! As for the history homework…erm….

  8. Excellent. Good run.

    Fancy thinking Magna Carta was a man! I don’t think she’d be too impressed with that!

    P.S. Thanks… typo on my blog swiftly noted, corrected, and all knowledge subsequently denied 😉

  9. Red Hen says:

    I find younger runners (under 35 from my perspective!)in particular just completely unable to do the nod, smile thing. Think all those lessons on `never talk to strangers`might have had that effect on them?`

  10. abradypus says:

    My run on Sunday will be all mud. I shall take note of the different Devon forms to see how they compare.

Leave a Reply

