Southampton

Today I had to drive to Southampton, that is 2 hours 20 minutes from home, to pick up a lap top. When I googled the pick up point I noticed lots of parks with lots of paths in the vicinity, time for an out of Devon Janathon run.

I was pleased this landmark was near where I parked the car, so ensuring that I could not completely lost in a strange city.

photo 1

I ran up and down the paths trying to cover them all and up the mileage, but as you can see I did not quite manage it.

Capture

Crocuses or crocusi were making an appearance.

photo 2

I found this lovely memorial to the engineers that went down with Titanic

photo 3

she was beautiful, the day however at this point was dull hence the dark photo.

This Tudor building seemed very out-of-place amongst the tattoo parlours and nail bars

photo 4

and I am sure when it was built it was not intended to be a nightclub. Shame really.

6 miles done, time for the drive home. Nice to run somewhere different and FLAT.

Looks like it will be wet hills tomorrow.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Southampton

  1. Sam says:

    Nice to get somewhere new for a run, even better to get somewhere flat!

  2. madhat2014 says:

    Running ‘abroad’ … how exciting! 🙂
    I can’t believe that crocuses are out in Southampton already.

  3. Red Hen says:

    Changing route is usually wonderful. I`m glad you enjoyed yours today. Decent mileage too!

  4. What a great way to explore somewhere new! 🙂

  5. What a good run. I love running (or walking) in another town. Keeps it interesting.

  6. jezsmith says:

    It looks like you made good use of their paths!

  7. Oooo I see you headed over to my home city! Looks like you covered quite a distance as well. Glad to hear it was a good run 🙂

  8. Pingback: Separation Anxiety & Popcorn | The Crazy Runner Girl

Leave a Reply

