Once, twice, three times a runner

Yes today I ran on three separate occasions, each time with a member of my family.

  1. This morning I did intervals (with myself) in the dark. I am sure the village has an idiot already and as I don’t really want a new job I make sure I do intervals before most people have risen from their beds. My intervals were 1/2 mile warm up, 1/4 fast as you can to the red car, collapse, 1/4 mile recover back, repeat four times. (Not helped by owner of red car taking it to work half way through!) 1/2 mile cool down. 3 miles
  2. This afternoon tempo session with Madam. As far as I can make out tempos are longer intervals but am open to any correction on this. 1/2 mile warm up which was meant to be a gentle jog (Madam come back Madam wait for me!) 1/2 mile run with effort but not flat out (Madam come back Madam wait for me!) repeat twice. 2 miles
  3. This evening first run with hubby. (those of you that know him stop laughing NOW) Hubby requested running kit for Christmas which I duly purchased wrapped and placed under the tree along with a parkrun barcode! (Pushing my luck I think) The kit was unwrapped, laughed at by members of the family who witnessed the unveiling and then buried in the bottom of the wardrobe. At the weekend hubby announced he would run Sunday with Madam and Monday with me. Rain stopped play yesterday, but despite my doubts he came home tonight raring to go (this might be an exaggeration) It was a slow run, we did not speak much, in fact if I did not know any better I would swear we had had a row! Not sure he will come out again but we did 1.5 miles.

Now the rounder upper in me wants to go out and do 1/2 a mile to make in 6 miles today, but 4 runs in one day would be madness. No tonight I shall recline on the sofa with Usain Bolt, the other runner in my life!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Once, twice, three times a runner

  1. Is Madam a dog? I’m sorry if she’s not!!! The reason why I’m asking is because I recently got a German Shepherd puppy and I really can’t wait to be able to bring her with me for jogs when she grows up a bit. So I would greatly appreciate if you give me some tips on how to keep them focused 😀

    xoxo
    Olena

  2. runtezza says:

    The family that runs together, erm, eats buns together? Inspiring stuff!

  3. iwalkicycle says:

    Big well done to hubby! When we were out tonight doing our walk, my hubby complained when I stepped up the pace! Then he promptly chose to lengthen his stride and overtook me. Annoyed wife!!

  4. fortnightflo says:

    Blimey three in one day – what the?????

  5. The tempo run has been keeping me perplexed for the best part of two months now. I’m still no closer to understanding if I am doing it right or not. Your description sounds similar to what I have been trying, but not exactly the same.

    Well done to your other half as well. Our male pride can keep us going in the face of significant discomfort, even pain. I’m sure he will be back for more…

    • shazruns says:

      Not so sure about that RB he has lost the ability to walk! The temp run is complicated isn’t it, not helped by the plan saying something along the lines of take fastest half marathon time, fastest 10k time find middle point run at that pace for extended period of time! A ahhhh. For me I just go longer but slower than intervals, I’m sure it must all help!

  6. plustenner says:

    3 runs in one day! I will ‘borrow’ one of them, as I have done nothing 🙂

  7. Mavis hall says:

    Tell hubby to keep to 1mph for now!! He’s doing great is this a PB — the first in 50 years!!

  8. That’s lot of running in one day especially since they were separate events! Good job! I would go out and run the 1/2 mile just to keep it even too. Maybe the red car guy has returned from work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

