Anniversary Killerton Parkrun

The first Saturday of Janathon 2013 I ran my first Killerton Parkrun, if I had done all of them over the past year I would be in line for receiving a 50 T-shirt, obviously I did some slacking over the year and have only notched up 34, with a total of 40 overall. That first day I cam 88th out of 100, today I came 87th out of 140 (a whole place up the field!), but even though I am nowhere near a PB, I am consistently 5 minutes faster than I was that first day, for now I shall try to be happy with that!

Talking of happy I read on emilysrunningadventures about the happy, happier, happiest goals you should set when thinking about race times, I so wish I had done this for all my VLM’s, but I shall adopt this for all future races including Parkruns (I know technically they are a run not a race but I race against me so for me a race-following?).

Killerton Parkrun goals spring term

  • Happy-Complete the course without falling over
  • Happier-Get to the finish sub 30
  • Happiest-Get to the finish sub 29

Killeton Parkrun goals summer term (be warned legs)

  • Happy-Get to the finish sub 28
  • Happier-Get to the finish sub 27
  • Happiest-Attain that GFS* time

I was fresh out of Daz for these

socks

so have opted for the recycle method (in the bin) and bought these

new socks

Now if someone could make a trainer dryer to save me doing this

shoes

then my life would be complete!

*Good For Shaz a secret time not to be disclosed until I reach it, but it is one I will be pleased with!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Anniversary Killerton Parkrun

  1. My trainers have seen a lot of radiator action so far!

  2. winsometahn says:

    34 parkruns in a year is pretty impressive to me!

  3. abradypus says:

    I like Happy, Happier, Happiest. I may borrow that idea too!

  4. 34 in a year is amazing. So is knocking 5 mins off

  5. Tubontherun says:

    Happy anniversary! Not long to your red shirt now!

  6. sudebaker says:

    Congrats on all the races! I stuff my sneakers with newspaper and let them air dry.

  7. plustenner says:

    only 10 to your 50 !

  8. runtezza says:

    Run happy!. Love the new socks.

  9. dadoorunrun says:

    those socks look like they came out of notmuchofarunners forgotten laundry!

  10. 40 parkruns, that’s awesome. I’m not much of a traveller but I would come to Killerton just to run parkrun – I wonder how my times would compare from Launceston to Killerton, no hills in Launceston! I hope you get that GFS time this summer 🙂

    • shazruns says:

      I would love for you to do killerton also but maybe when it’s not so muddy! One day I’d like to come to visit your launceston, our one in Cornwall is not terribly far away, but they don’t have a Parkrun !

  11. I hope you reach your GFS time so we can find out what it is 😉

  12. Red Hen says:

    Wow! That`s a lot of parkruns! Well done!

  13. Happy Anniversary and well done on 34 in a year! One of these days I must get to Killerton and join you.

  14. IronMum says:

    Ha – that radiator pic could have been taken in this house! 🙂 Nice running.

  15. The red shirt is in sight. Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

