A run in sunny Devon!

I was awoken again last night by ferocious wind and torrential rain, so was somewhat nervous about todays run. I opted for the get out and get it done option, Madam chose the delay till later tactic.

Soon in to the run there was evidence of the storm last night with these poor people unable to get out of their drive.

tree

About 1.5 miles in to what was meant to be a 6 mile run the sky looked like this

sky

I knew I was in trouble then. Now I run in snow, rain, through puddles, sleet, hail, wind but I draw the line at thunder. It started to thunder. Time to head home. Then the hail came and boy did it come, blowing horizontally across the road. I tried running close to the hedge to shelter but to no avail. It stung my eyes, my nose, my ears in fact I was getting an exfoliating treatment thanks to mother nature. If I had thought of it at the time I would have run backwards in the hopes the treatment would work on the cellulite on my backside!

3 miles completed and a rainbow when I got home.

Madam ran at lunch time in the sun! Seems I should have delayed.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A run in sunny Devon!

  1. fitfor365 says:

    The joys of horizontal hail! Is the flooding affecting you down there?

  2. Hels says:

    Eeeek! I did think about you and the storms, knowing that you are a south-westerner. Lucky that the tree there didn’t come down on anyone.

  3. runtezza says:

    Fantastic effort — all hail to Shaz!!

  4. plustenner says:

    The same happened to me! We went out at 12, got rained and hailed on, then at 1 the sun was shining 🙂

  5. mercyjm says:

    Ooh ow! hail hurts, good scary photo though.

  6. I’m with you in the thunder department – not nice! I hope the weather settles over there.

  7. From reading on the jogs it would seem that there was a lot of hail about!

  8. People are going to start thinking I’m smug as I’ve said this on a few blogs now but day 3 has brought us Sunshine!

  9. paigesato says:

    No plank in the hail?

  10. I’d just made it to work when the hail started in Exeter and the hail stones were heavy!! Glad I wasn’t out in it but well done you 🙂

  11. Red Hen says:

    Oh thunder! Yikes! There is no way I`d hang around for that!

  12. Pingback: parkrun breakfast | Jez Smith

  13. abradypus says:

    It was tough to find an hour of nice yesterday, so even if you’d delayed you would probably have caught some bad weather.

  14. fitflo says:

    Oh dear! You are so brave going out – I just can’t find the motivation today. As we speak I have the heater on in the conservatory and plan to do a weights/circuit session rather than face the rain…

  15. Ouch. Hail hurts!
    I’ve spent the week waiting for a sunny spelll and never made it so you can feel smug about being hardcore! Hope next time the weather happens the other way round for you.

  16. Tubontherun says:

    You were very brave – the morning’s storm was quite impressive. I don’t think we had too much hail, thankfully. I could probably deal with the thunder, it is the lightening I wouldn’t be so keen on.

    Hope those people managed to get the tree removed from their driveway.

  17. Pingback: mud, glooooorious mud | dadoorunrun

Leave a Reply

