Two times Killerton

At the beginning of the week Madam announced that at this weeks parkrun she would pace me round to a PB. This interest in Charity work and helping the aged is new but I was touched. However by Thursday I suggested a PB would be out of the question but the aim should be to keep upright during the 5k as I knew after the awful weather we had this week the course would be less than pleasant.

This week was dress up week. I commended the White Fairy for her bravery and suggested she might need to get some Daz on the way home. Madam opted for the Scrooge approach and I chose a Father Christmas hat instead of my usual baseball hat.

The course was as predicted horrendous, just after the start the mud was thick, gloopy and slippery. I opted for the left hand side running on the bank and was glad I did especially when I saw someone tumble. Then all of a sudden Madam was next to me having just fallen over herself. I was gutted I missed it as at that point I could have done with a laugh, she refused my request for a replay. The rest of the course we ran together and I enjoyed her company. At the last marshall point I suggested she went on to the finish but she refused saying she would run with me to the end and would even let me win. (Tis the season of goodwill after all!) We managed a sprint finish clearly upsetting the marshalls in the funnel area as it was very slick there.

I was sad to miss the cup of tea with Steph who was marshalling at point 3, but as the heavens opened at 9:30 it seemed our cue to leave quick. Next time Steph!

After lunch we returned to Killerton to look at the decorations in the house and have a walk around the gardens as by then it had dried up.

This made me smile

DSCN3826and this gentleman was kept busy with a stream of small visitors, such a shame Madam is now too old.

DSCN3835

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two times Killerton

  1. Red Hen says:

    Well, there`s an aristocratic Father Christmas, for sure! Well done and fitting in parkrun at this hectic-and slippery!-time of the year!

  2. paigesato says:

    such beautiful trees!

  3. plustenner says:

    well done!!

  4. abradypus says:

    Such an altruistic daughter – long may it continue 😉

Leave a Reply

