The don’ts of winter running

How can I after 9 years of running be writing a post on what not to do when running in the winter based on mistakes I made today? You would have thought I would know by now, just backs up what I already suspect which is that I am a slow learner!
DON’T go for an interval run an hour earlier than last week without taking a torch, the back lane has no lights and at 5:45 am it was like the black hole of Calcutta.
DON’Ttry to run intervals, using the Garmin as a measure once you abandon the lane in favour of the lit housing estate, whilst wearing a normal watch as every time you click start and head off like a bat out of hell the watch will turn the Garmin off, leading to despair when you check the distance to find according to the GPS watch you have run for .2 of a mile not the .25 you need too.
DON’Tget stressed and call the run off and go home for a cup of tea. (Actually it was the best thing to do)
DON’Tgo to running group for the first time in ages on the coldest night ever without a handkerchief-sniffing so unattractive.
DON’Tforget your gloves on the coldest night.
DON’Tforget to check your torch works before turning up at running group with one that does not work

Tomorrow looks like it will be as cold I will re read this before I head out, to prevent myself from making the same mistakes two days in a row.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The don’ts of winter running

  1. zoeforman says:

    We will always learn and forget !!

  2. I’m just trying to work out why I would want to remember to check my torch works before still turning up with one that doesn’t 😉

  3. Red Hen says:

    Oh those early morning runs… you`re still at it, and putting me to shame!

  4. I like this post, made me laugh – reminds me of me

  5. emmarossruns says:

    That sounds like quite a day!!! Maybe print this out and hang it by the door?!

Leave a Reply

