Advent

I love Advent calendars

As a child I remember having one from my Mum’s Womens Womens magazine, I loved opening the doors each day. Each year the same calendar would appear with the doors pushed shut ready to be re opened!

When big Madam was five I decided to make what we refer to as the ‘clue calendar’ this was 17 years ago, before I knew we would be joined by middle madam and then much later on by little madam, if I had known I might not have proceeded! This is the clue calendar.

DSCN3799

You will see little blue squares, there are 23 of them with the door being the 24th one, Each square has a slot where a clue can be placed. The clue once solved will reveal a small prize. (Thank goodness for Poundland!) Here is tomorrows already in place.

DSCN3801

I can’t tell you how hard it is to think of 24 clues each year, not too easy to be found right away, hard enough to get the grey matter working, but not too hard to cause stress for both Madam and I! But it is a tradition and Christmas would not be the same now without doing it.

On top of this Madam has two books advent calendars, two chocolate ones and a traditional paper one, this year its a joke one which should be fun.

Yes I love Advent calendars, so you can imagine how excited I was when I saw this in the local town, can’t wait to go back next week to check out which ones have been painted in. I might share and post some pics for you!

DSCN3796

 

Can’t believe December starts tomorrow!

(We ran the last Killerton parkrun of November today, no results yet, but I know there was not a PB for me, that is fine, it was a beautiful morning and the mud not too bad)

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Advent

  1. Red Hen says:

    What a lovely idea! Hard to believe it`s Advent from tomorrow. I`m not in the least ready for it. I`m thinking though of doing a run every day for Advent as preparation for all that laying about over the Christmas season.

    • shazruns says:

      Wow that’s an ambitious advent, if I did that I would never be ready-am a bit of a last minute girl, I will be wrapping presents on the 24th that is also a tradition!

  2. paigesato says:

    omg, good thing you’re half a day ahead of me, otherwise I would have gone to bed without digging out the advent calendar!

  3. Tubontherun says:

    I love this! That is such a lovely idea.

  4. plustenner says:

    that is so cool!! love it

  5. That painting advent calender is amazing! love it love it love it (oh oh ideas brewing now!!) was sooooo cool to see you :-)))))) and surreal !!! The reindeers and melting snowman – mmmmmm yum yum!! xxx

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Nooooooooo it can;t be christmas yet……

Leave a Reply

