Far Far Away

What is that in the distance? Oh that’s right that is  madam. Yes, that was  how it was at Killerton parkrun yesterday. She was not to be seen. I had lent her my running socks, the magic ones, the ones with wings, so she romped home with a PB  107 seconds better than last weeks one. I however came in a while later without a PB, after all I only have one pair of magic socks! Really pleased for her but realise now she is indeed that speck in the distance one I shan’t catch due of course to my advancing age! Other excuses available on request.

This morning I stepped out in to minus 1.5 degress temperatures for a LSR. 9 miles is not very long but believe me it was very very slow. My legs never seemed to warm up, feeling like jelly most of the way due maybe in part to a hole in the leggings around the groin area, not the ideal time to have extra ventilation but they are my favourite ones!

After warming, up showering, scoffing breakfast, it was off to Dartmoor with the family for a walk. Three miles that had it all.

Silly hats

silly hats

Water falls both man-made and water made,

Streams to play pooh sticks in

Wood carvings

Autumnal colours

The moors

DSCN3782

Fabulous views

Cute fluffy panda calves

DSCN3786

A swiss house with an ornamental garden

 

Perfect weekend except of course for that speck!

Capture

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Far Far Away

  1. Red Hen says:

    Well done to your girl! You must be really proud seeing that speck in the distance! Love the pics and oh! the `not so long`nine mile run? I can`t remember when I ran that far last. So well done to you too!

  2. Well done to Madam. Your turn for the magic socks next time! Love the photos 🙂

  3. Lovely photos. We used to live in that neck of the woods and we had many fun walks onto the moors in that area. Looks like you had a good day for it.

  4. abradypus says:

    106 seconds! Just wow!

  5. plustenner says:

    absolutely gorgeous!

  6. Diana says:

    Great pictures!!! TRULY appreciate you taking the time to stop and take them….but, isn’t that the reason Madam is beating you???? You are stopping!!! THAT’s your excuse, not magic socks!!! LOL

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Gorgeous pics hon – why are you doing LSR – sure you’re not training for a marathon??

Leave a Reply

