Winter running

This week winter arrived here in deepest darkest Devon. Tuesday’s run was cold cold cold, with the thermometer reading a balmy 1.8 degrees when I left the house. Thursday’s run was windy and wet. The drop in temperature allowed me to try these

DSCN3756 DSCN3757

endless mitts I guess. Despite kind offers from both Paige and Alma to make them for me I went for the easiest option (ie I did NOTHING) and asked mum to do them. I love the colour (safe in the knowledge that if it snows and I get caught in a snowdrift or avalanche these will be easily spotted) and the I love the pattern.

DSCN3763 Mum liked making them and using the wooden knitting needles.

I find when I run that my hands swell when cold but I don’t like running with gloves on, I find them too hot, am hoping these are a happy medium with the weather forecast as it is seems I will get lots of use out of them.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter running

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Glad you like the half gloves – I can’t find the pattern to make more so don’t take any orders!!

  2. Red Hen says:

    Your mum did a great job on those mitts!

  3. paigesato says:

    Your mom is a fabulous knitter–those mitts are great!

  4. plustenner says:

    your mom did a better job than I would have!! has the next craft box arrived?

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh love the look of those…

Leave a Reply

