Changing Plans

Plan A:- I was to run parkrun, Madam was handing our finishing tokens keeping a low number behind for me! I was going to run a PB and so up my chances of getting a place in VLM (really shaz? you really want to do that again?) in parkruns ‘chase the place’ competition

Plan B:- They were a marshal short, I volunteered so found myself running to the mile mark to do my duty. PB out of the question but knew if I ran the rest of the course once the tail runner appeared I would get a run towards my 50 t-shirt

Plan C:- The tailrunner had to stop before he got to me as a runner had sprained their ankle. I then became tailrunner/walker meeting up with two young runners with their Dad’s one of whom would run two minutes then walk whilst eating a ‘haribo’ what a great idea, bless her she was doing so well, only just 6 years old. On meeting up with marshall 4 I stopped and walked the rest of the way chatting with him, it seemed rude to run on! By the time we got to the end everyone had packed up, so no finishing token for me! Oh well an extra week to do now and that PB will be there to grab next week!

This weekend seems to be international race weekend.

Carla is doing the Las Vegas half marathon, that PB is so in her reach I know she can do it you go flo.

Paige is doing the Philadelphia Half Marathon, you can read about how ready she is here, I have no doubt she will get the time she desires and if she does she will be faster than me, so go get it Paige!

Unsporty and Newheart are doing the Point to Pinnacle this is a 21.4k (half marathon to us Brits) run that climbs 1270 metres up Mount Wellington in Tasmania. A huge challenge but one I know they are both ready to conquer. You can read about their preparations here and here

Four amazing women, runners and bloggers, can’t wait to hear about their halves, I wish them all the best of luck.

Capture

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Changing Plans

  1. Red Hen says:

    I can`t wait to read how the half marathoners have done!

  2. Thanks so much Shaz!!! my beautiful blogger friend New Heart and I finished, I was 2 minutes behind and we both were so overwhelmed we could only cry and hug and couldn’t talk. I appreciate your encouragement so much!!!

  3. plustenner says:

    go Carla and Paige and unsporty and newheart!!

  4. NewHeart says:

    Thanks Shaz for your support and encouragement, it means so much 🙂 As unsportywomen said earlier, we both finished and shared a few tears and hugs together. I still get choked up when i think of what we both achieved, and where our running journeys have taken us.

  5. Hels says:

    I reckon the little 6 year old was on to something with the run/walk-haribo approach! It’s not dissimilar to my marathon technique…

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Aw thanks for your support – not enough trainng in my legs for a PB I’m afraid – I’m saving that for the Bathalf with you lot x

Leave a Reply

