Sometimes

Yes sometimes I could hang Madam up by her toes hug Madam tight.

Yesterday was parkrun. This is how it played out

Before

Me:- Now today is about getting round Madam, you haven’t done Killerton for a while so today is about getting round without stopping

Madam:-………………………………………………………… (silence)

During

(Approx .75 mile)

Madam:-Muummmm my feet are cold I can’t feel my toes (whingey tone)

Me:-Mine are always like , at the beginning, the worse thing you can do is stop, keep going

(Approx 1.5 miles)

Madam:-It’s so upsetting I wanted a PB today it’s so hard (whingey tone increased by 100%)

Me:-Madam you will not get a PB today especially if you keep stopping just get to the end(through gritted teeth-I don’t think I swore but can swear to it)

After

Madam:- (who finished 106 place) That was really hard, that mud was hard I kept slipping everywhere

Me:- (Who finished 133 place) The conditions are going to get worse you need to forget about a PB till next spring when it will be drier

Fast forward to dinner time

Me:-Do you want to see your time?

Madam:-(Leaning over to look at computer) Whoo hoo I got a PB (by 7 seconds)

Me:-That is it from now you don’t talk to me till we are finished the run (those gritted teeth making an appearance again)

Yes I could hang her up by her toes

DSCN3750

pretty toes, (yes but hang from them she may.) shame about the legs!

DSCN3751Mucky child.

P.S. No I did not get a PB. (Through gritted teeth)

 

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sometimes

  1. Red Hen says:

    Haha! I know the feeling! VERY muddy there though. I presume Killerton is all grass? Bound to make a huge difference to your PB for sure. Well done to your girl though! She`s probably one of those sickening gazelle-like creatures that can run like the wind!

  2. Well done to Madam on her PB

  3. Oh dear, I see lots of parents encouraging their children around Launceston parkrun. One dad almost did the 5km loop three times on Saturday… he did a smoking time of 22 mins, then ran back out and encouraged his son over the line, then ran back out to find his daughter (who was having a big grump all the way around but was all angelic smiles at the finish). Well done to Madam on her PB and to you being such a good mum! PB for you next time I hope 🙂

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Ooh I was beginning to wonder what the conditions at Killerton were getting like. Mud it is then! Congrats to Madam!

  5. abradypus says:

    Mud, mud, glorious mud!

  6. hahaha! love it! well done Katelyn 🙂

Leave a Reply

