I have the answer

no not that answer, I don’t have the answer to the meaning on life, I am working on that one. No I have the answer to:-after completing two half marathons what will I work on and train towards next?

I have spent much of the week on the web trying to find a November or December 10K or half marathon fairly locally (Norwich is not local but tempting as flat) but seems they don’t run in the South-West in these months, maybe they are getting ready for Christmas. What was I going to do to keep the training and fitness up?

The answer came to me at this mornings parkrun, the run where I was meant to get a PB the run where I was to beat Madam’s PB, but it became the run where the PB did not happen. It was a run where my lungs sat in my stomach refusing to come out and play and where my legs clearly told me to *** off. But hey it is another one towards my 50 t-shirt.

Time to make the 5K my focus for the winter. I have a time I want to get to, not a Mo time, not an ET (you know who you are) time, a GFS (good for Shaz) time.ย  Much time will be spent on the web looking for a ‘run like the wind’ plan. Decision made, focus in place.

This afternoon after the rain stopped (Madam’s rain dance only worked for so long too bad for her) we headed to Woodbury common for a walk. The views were great

Madam discovered she still likes puddle splashing

DSCN3623

Christmas is obviously on its way

the lighting in the trees great

and the fungi, well they were incredible

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, parkrun, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I have the answer

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Love the toad stalls – then I would!!

  2. Hedwigia says:

    Another vote for toadstools from here! Those Scarlet Fly Caps are wonderful. Good luck with the super-fast 5k plan. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. That is a really good goal, best of luck with it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. paigesato says:

    Puddles are da bomb! And the holly? Too early? a GFS 5k is a great goal, especially in winter months.

  5. iwalkicycle says:

    Love the photos – amazing hues in the shot with Madam! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Red Hen says:

    Lovely photos. Yes, I was surprised by the holly berries too. Maybe they always come out at this time and stay through Christmas-if the birds allow. Don`t you love how photography makes one more observant?

  7. Hels says:

    I also like splashing in puddles. There should be a “splashing in puddles run”.

  8. plustenner says:

    gorgeous photos! good luck on the GFS for the 5k, you will do it!

  9. Tubontherun says:

    The Drogo 10 is a 10 miler (just shy actually I think) but it’s very hilly as it’s in the Teign Valley. That could be worth a look. I have a feeling it is in November. I’m surprised Plymouth doesn’t have anything. If you’re looking to go in the other direction, I thought that Montacute House in Dorset had something 10k (ish) in the winter.

    Gorgeous photos!

  10. fortnightflo says:

    Oh that Holly is gorgeous – you take such great pics x

Leave a Reply

