The Great West Run

For the second weekend in a row I was to run a half marathon, thankfully this one was nearer to home.

  • To the police who had to close the road  in to Exeter, due to an accident thank you for setting up correct diversion signs.
  • To the runners and volunteers from killerton parkrun thanks for the encouragement at the start and end it was so nice to see a familiar face or five.
  • To the lady I met at the start who lives on Dartmoor, I hope you got to the end in one piece and Good Luck with VLM 2014
  • To the lady with the capri eating bottom, this would not happen if you wore big knickers, a thong is not great for running in.
  • To the lady who had 6 gels attached to her belt that is really too many gels for a half marathon, I hope you made it to the end without needing the toilet!
  • To the man running as Aladdin complete with flying carpet and collection bucket you are hardcore, well done.
  • To the man who threw up in front of me, you should have taken my water when offered to rinse your mouth, hope you kept going.
  • To the woman running wearing long tights, long socks, shorts, t-shirt and hoody, it is not WINTER what are you going to do when it is cold.
  • To the BBC weather app, you got it right.
  • To who ever is in charge of weather thanks for perfect weather conditions
  • To the lady who warned me of the ambulance right behind me, thanks.
  • To the ambulance driver who got his vehicle stuck under the finish clock on the finishing line, hope you don’t get much stick at work this week, but that was STUPID!
  • To the cashier at Waitrose who when asked me how long the run was and when I told her replied ‘thats not so bad then’ I hope you give it a go soon so you can see how bad it is.
  • To the nice young lad stocking the shelves in Waitrose, who asked me how the run went, thanks for asking and thanks for not saying you guessed I had run due to my attire rather than the emanating aroma
  • To the organisers, great run but please do something about those ****** hills.
  • To my legs, huge thanks for getting me up and down those hills and for knocking 16 seconds off my PB set last week
  • To Madam you were wrong I came 28th in my age category out of 75+ not 29 thanks as ever for the vote of confidence.

For those of you who think I am exaggerating about the hills, this is Cardiff last week

Cardiff

This is Exeter

Exeter

medal2

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Great West Run

  1. Tubontherun says:

    I have heard the horror stories from friends who have run this race – the hills seem cruel and unnecessary! Loved your summary – big knickers and plenty of water all the way!!

  2. Carole C says:

    Oh , well done…and what a fab post ! Sick and bum-eating capris…..you made me smile through my lurgy 🙂

  3. Loved the unique race report! Well done on the PB!

  4. NewHeart says:

    Well done. Loved your commentary, made it feel like we were there too 🙂

  5. Congrats. Always fun to look back and find the things that make you laugh or that were insane. They really are the things that keep me signing up to do this crazy thing called long distance running. 🙂

  6. iwalkicycle says:

    Well done, well done, well done! Such an achievement! Brill race report too! Have you got another challenge lined up? 🙂

  7. Ha ha ha! I just spat coffee all over my keyboard – capri eating bottoms, stupid ambulance drivers and the sweet aroma of a victorious run. I’m want to go next year!
    Congratulations on your new PB and enjoy your well deserved bling. 🙂

  8. Red Hen says:

    Haha! Fantastic report! And well done on a great run. Too funny about the capri eating bum, the Waitrose young lad, and the hapless ambulance driver-sounds like a scene out some great British comedy!

  9. Great race report. And a PB too woohoo! 🙂

  10. zoecakes says:

    Sounds like an eventful race! Well done on your PB! 🙂

  11. Killer hills, great medal!

  12. paigesato says:

    best. race. recap. EVER!

  13. abradypus says:

    Yup. What they said! Congratulations 🙂

  14. Hels says:

    Being a south westerner, maybe I should actually venture home to do a race at some point…well done and loved the recap! 28th in category sounds good to me, love the recap – 6 gels – whyyyyyyyyy? I didn’t even take that many in my marathon!

Leave a Reply

