Sensible Shaz

My inner ‘competitive don’t let the kids win‘ spirit that I inherited from my Dad wanted to go and romp round Killerton parkrun to smash Madam’s PB, BUT sensible Shaz won that battle and I plodded. Need to save myself for Exeter half tomorrow or to give it it’s proper name The Great West Run.
A mile in to the parkrun I spotted madam pulled over to the side (well to be honest I ran past and had to go back when I realised it was her!) she had hurt her knee. She opted to run on gently rather than go back and we continued on our way. Full credit to her she finished and even picked up pace on the last mile to finish ahead of me!
When I was running on my own I came across a Junior runner about 8 yrs old running and carrying her cardigan passing it from arm to arm, as I drew level with her I offered to take it from her but she declined the help. I then challenged her to pass the long legged ‘big girl’ in front she thought she might be able to do this, so we continued on together. I am very pleased to say that although she did not beat Madam, she beat me AND she got a PB by 1 minute 40 seconds. Well done her.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in parkrun, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sensible Shaz

  1. plustenner says:

    good luck for Exeter!

  2. Definitely better to save your competitive edge for tomorrow. Best of luck. 🙂

  3. abradypus says:

    Hope Exeter went well.

  4. Tubontherun says:

    Hoping Exeter went well for you today, and you didn’t get too soggy!

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Aw you are such a Mum – in a good way xx

Leave a Reply

