Cardiff Half Marathon

Last night my car was stolen, then it snowed, I overslept got up at 6:50 am and had to speed up the M5 to get to Cardiff for the start at 9 o’clock, if that was not enough my car changed into a yellow violin, oh yes the joy of pre race dreams. I think I was awake every hour until crawling out of bed at 4:45 am.

I managed to get to Cardiff and the car park and the toilets for 7 am and before a lot of other people pitched up which was just as well as there was only one pay and display machine working (so reassuring that things in Wales work the same as here in England) This is not the queue for the portoloos but for the parking ticket machine!

C1

I met up with Carla and Alma who had stayed at Sue’s for the night- a real Janathon affair. Nice to see them both its been too long.

It was not long before we had to go to the start, who knew what the next 13.1 miles would hold for us all? Last night I did a bit of research on what my PB might be and what I should aim for, back in 2008 I did Run to the Beat and Royal Parks, the latter being the fastest as it was also the flattest! I wanted to get under this time, but also knew that I usually don’t perform as well as I want when it comes to race day, so was not holding my breath which under the circumstances was wise!

Today I wore my Garmin which is something I don’t usually do, I wanted us to be friends still at the end of it and not have the desire to throw him in to the nearest large piece of water half way round! After each mile (except for mile 2 which I missed as someone with loud music ran by) I checked my pace for that mile, then I checked my legs and stomach to see how they were feeling. This seemed to work well although Mr Garmin tells me I slowed from mile 9. The course was beautiful, the support in the City amazing. The course was mostly flat except for at mile 3 and mile 12 (which was not funny at all)! I got to the end totally spent, knowing I could not have done anymore and with a PB by 3 mins :35, very pleased.

Cardiff has some beautiful flowers

a troll

C8DRAGONS!

C6 and a great Half Marathon Course-if you get a chance give it a go.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cardiff Half Marathon

  1. Seriously car stolen and you still ran? Crazy!

  2. Great opening!

    And a great finish too!

    Well done 🙂

  3. Red Hen says:

    Great race report, Shaz! Especially that dream sequence! Ugh! I hate those pre race nerves. I don`t think we`d queue in Ireland with such patience for a ticket machine. Well done you on completing the half mara! Tough, tough run-and no, that 12 mile hill couldn`t have been at all pleasant.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    It was lovely to see you too, but I’m sure you were a bit quicker than 3:35!!!

  5. abradypus says:

    PB! Congratulations!

  6. Tubontherun says:

    Well done! How are you feeling for Exeter next week?

  7. paigesato says:

    I totally fell for the stolen car bit! Congrats on a race well ran!

  8. zoecakes says:

    I had a similar bad dream the other day about missing the start of a parkrun! 😉
    Well done on your PB 🙂

  9. Love those pre-race dreams! Congrats on your new PB!!! Way to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

