Decision made for me

For the last couple of weeks I have been wondering which trainers to wear to the forthcoming half marathon in Cardiff.

The choice is Asics, Blue New Balance, who took me round VLM and or my go faster New Balance which don’t offer as much support.

Fortunately or unfortunately (much will depend on how Sunday goes) the decision has been taken out of my hands or feet!

Tuesday I went for an interval session in Asics, on the football field, the grass was wet and when I got home I was positively squelching. Now when ever anyone comes in to the porch the cry goes out ‘What is that smell?” it is not pleasant, it is a cross between rotten cabbage and cat wee! Am thinking of hanging one of these outside for visitors

images

the air freshener is just not cutting it.

Last night I put on Blue New Balance, as Asics still wet, to go to the running group. As they saw I was there they decided to do the out and back route, this is out up hill for 25 minutes up a country lane, not my favourite run before heading back. As we turned around to come back, the heavens opened and when I say opened I mean OPENED biblically! There we were in the middle of nowhere, in the pitch black getting soaked, oh and we were laughing, it was the only thing we could do. I would have been dryer if I had gone in the shower, so Blue New balance are now also wet and smelly.

Looks like it’s the go faster New Balance then, maybe I will go and get some inner soles to give me more support!

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decision made for me

  1. fortnightflo says:

    Are they the lovely multi coloured ones? If so I’m wearing my ones too! Our train isn’t til late on Sunday, I’m hoping we’ll get to have a bite to eat and a long catch up after the run? x

  2. Red Hen says:

    Deciding what runners to wear is a minefield. And there`s so much conflicting advice from all quarters. Re smell. I always leave mine to dry out on sunny windowsill. Sprinkling the insides with bread soda on occasion takes care of the worst of the pong.

Leave a Reply

