Summer all gone

As I stood in the rain waiting for the Women on the Run group to start, I realised that summer is over. This was brought home even more with us running through the woods barely able to see where we were going. Out of the woods it was in to the rain, by the time we got back to the cars it was quite dark and we were quite wet! Yep summer is no longer. Not cold enough to put the heating on but cold enough to slip in to my onesie once out of the shower. Hot chocolate on the shopping list this week.

Happy to report that ‘big’ school is going well, so well in fact that I had to check the sky for these this week

Capture

after Madam had a shower without being told to and has completed homework set without being nagged. She looks and sounds like our daughter but I can’t be certain that its her, maybe she has been cloned, but for now I shan’t complain or make comment, I will just enjoy it as I am sure the ‘when pigs will fly’ scenario will return all too soon.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer all gone

  1. Tubontherun says:

    When I looked up at 8:30 this evening and saw it was properly dark outside, the “summer’s gone” thought really crossed my mind too.

    Glad to hear that a) big school is going well and b) LM is being decidedly un-teenaged!

  2. Red Hen says:

    So glad she`s settled. It`s tough being a teen. Wouldn`t go back there for all the tea in China.

    • I would. And I don’t even like tea that much.
      I loved school so much, I have kept the rose-tinted spectacles that I had back then.
      Hey… Autumn’s great…especially this beginning bit when you sometimes still get the bright sunshine in the early evening and it’s not got tooooo cold.
      A silent, not bringing attention to it, ‘Well done’ to LM too.

  3. plustenner says:

    is dark at 5.30 in the morning now 😦

Leave a Reply

