Things I learnt today

  • Its dark at 5 am.
  • The street lights don’t come on till 5:45.
  • It’s very hard running in the pitch black.
  • A watched sun takes ages to rise.
  • Running 5 miles round the village is very dull (Well to be honest I knew this already but in the dark its duller!)
  • I need to find my running torch.
  • Flip phones are still being made and whats more people still buy them-thanks work you are too good to me.
  • Don’t enter your password on work mobile incorrectly or it will lock the phone making the first day back harder than it should be.
  • I can run 10 miles before 7 am and complete a day at work effectively -although work may disagree with this.
  • A neighbour cutting down a tree makes me a very happy Shaz
About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things I learnt today

  1. Hedwigia says:

    Like the ‘watched sun’ one. 🙂

  2. I cannot imagine being up at 5am let alone running! think I’ve still been up at 5am but to wake up noooooo! I remain in awe of my escaped running buddy 🙂 ps I didn’t get lost can you believe that! I even twice re-directed a couple who were going wrong! finally I am beginning to grow up!

  3. Red Hen says:

    I`ll take your word on those dark runs. I`m not even tempted to try!

  4. paigesato says:

    It’s dark here at 5am. In July, it’s not. The subtle shift is still hard to swallow.

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Jesus – 1o miles before 7am?!?!? MAAAAADDD woman!!

Leave a Reply

