Mashalling Madam

As part of parkruns ‘get families volunteering day’ Madam and I decided to Marshall at Killerton today. This was her first time and I think she should see what goes on behind the scenes and learn that you have to give and take in life. We were Marshall 4 which involves walking half way round the course (in reverse) to set up. (In fact I think running the 3 miles is easier than being Marshall 4!) Madam and I had a dispute about which gate needed to be tethered, but after both her and I ran the path down to the gate I realised she was RIGHT! Darn it, I hate when that happens!

We stood by these beauties,

1I was wishing I was still in bed like them and we waited 2looking up here for the front-runners. It was nice to see what the leaders look like! Even nicer to notice that they huff and puff and sweat too! Pleased to see Steph again, today we had switched roles, last time I saw her she was Marshall 4! One of these days we will get our act together and both run and then stop on for a cup of tea and a real chat-hopefully!

Another beautiful day here in Devon so it was off to the beach again for Madam and I direct from parkrun. Today we went to Ladram Bay.

DSCN3272DSCN3273

DSCN3283DSCN3275

it’s a lovely spot and one we had not been too before. I braved the water twice but belive me it was absolutely FREEZING. Madam faired better than me

DSCN3277

Seems the 6 mile fartlek session will not happen today, (6 miles fartlek? Who wrote this plan) but well done to Madam who took herself off for a run round the playing field whilst I unpacked the car.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mashalling Madam

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Well! Done my girls – the aged one and I did a LONG six mile walk around here and met eight people, three dogs and two bikes being pushed along a hilly footpath? How bazaar is that,!

  2. Sounds near perfect 🙂

  3. abradypus says:

    How can water that beautiful be freezing? That’s just not fair.

  4. Red Hen says:

    I love that last shot of your girl-she looks like she hasn`t a care in the world. Good on you for volunteering. Parkrun depends on it.

  5. Tubontherun says:

    Thanks for the encouragement! And well done on getting a shot of the calves – they were adorable! I have to confess, I indulged in a brownie on the way back to the car, but we must have a cuppa soon! I think I am there next weekend, and then I have a couple of weeks off as we’re not here.

  6. fortnightflo says:

    madam looks so grown up!

Leave a Reply

