Intervals to Tarr Steps

My day started with an interval session.The plan called for 200m fast, 100m recovery, times 15, of course I adapted it. It became 200m fast, walk 100m, jog 100m back to start, at interval 9 the call of nature was shouting very loudly at me, I looked at the bushes, I looked at the house (training on football field at back of house) weighed it up for a nano second and opted for the comfort of my own toilet seat and headed home.

Mrs W whom used to have the misfortune of sitting opposite me at work, is holidaying on the North Devon coast, so this afternoon Madam and I set out to meet her and her family for a good old Devon cream tea. I had poured over the map and found Tarr Steps which I thought was a good mid way point for us to hook up. Fortunately for them they got the correct post code from the web site, unfortunately for me I did not! I got the post code that wanted me to drive through deep water. Mrs Sat Nav has many settings, but I could not find the one that said ‘re route to one where my feet won’t get wet or car washed away’ luckily a local pointed me in the right direction and finally we arrived, if a little late.

Tarr Steps is lovely.

DSCN3100

No Mrs Sat Nav it is too deep

No Mrs Sat Nav it is too deep

Great place to paddle

DSCN3101

Madam had a try and when I asked her what she did about her wet feet, the reply came ‘I used my cardigan to dry them’ sometimes they just let you down don’t they?

I think this crack was there before I walked over Tarr Steps having eaten two massive scones, but I can’t be certain!

3

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Intervals to Tarr Steps

  1. Lesley says:

    Looks lovely x

  2. Looks like a lot of fun and a great way to spend your day!

  3. paigesato says:

    Yes, sometimes they do just let you down

  4. I used to call this ‘clapper bridge’ when we ised to bisit, thinking that was the name of the place, but I’ve just googled it and apparently that’s the name for the TYPE of bridge.
    Learning everyday.

  5. fortnightflo says:

    I’m sure your body can take two scones with all the training you are doing! SOOOO looking forward to a catch up in Cardiff…

  6. Red Hen says:

    Love that bridge!

Leave a Reply

