Staycation day 14

After a bad night with toothache (yes I know-again) I got up at 6:30 am to wake madam so she could digest breakfast before parkrun. I left her dragging herself out of bed and headed out for the required interval session today, I knew being the tail runner marhsall at Killerton was not going to come near to an interval session. Chrissie Wellington did her normal shouting at me and I in return, grumpily did my intervals, dam you Chrissie and for the record running with passion is not something I can do.

At Killerton today I was very pleased to meet Phil and Ben of notmucharunner and notmuchasitstiller fame, after what must be two years of reading each others blogs (his are very creative-have a look, my all time favourite was the one he did, where his trainers had a conversation, must have taken hours) it was great to exchange a very quick brief hello. Well done to Ben who at 7 years old managed the tricky Killerton course. Awesome!

My first duty as tail end marshall was to stand at the gate to ensure no one ran in to the post. Very daunting and scary to stand there and have 240 parkrunners stampeding towards you, I did manage to keep my eyes open though! I then tagged along with a couple of people walking the route. The father and daughter were from South Africa although she now lives in Reading and they were in Devon for a family get together. It was lovely to walk the course and amazingly it did not seem as hilly! Madam was waiting for me at the end and was pleased to report that she felt she had a good run, results not in yet! I had a great morning, very social chatting to runners and volunteers alike. Love it!

We decided to take another trip up to the moors today with Middle Madam, BYF and Madam, the plan was to go up Haytor again, but the weather was so awful we just drove the moors instead. I was thrilled to see these beauties

highland I want one!

Madam loved seeing the horseshorse and these cows clearly owned the roadcows(Quality of pics awful as forgot to take my camera!)

Not the most successful trip out but if anyone has an idea of what to do with two 19 year olds (with only flip-flops as foot wear) and an 11-year-old in the pouring rain then please let me know, (next time we will stay home!)

I was glad to get back to spend the afternoon watching the athletics and in particular the lovely Usain Bolt, oh to run like that!

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Staycation day 14

  1. Hedwigia says:

    ” two 19 year olds (with only flip-flops as foot wear)” – quite a challenge in the rain!

  2. Mavis hall says:

    Glad to hear that you enjoyed being tail end Charlie and that you met up with Cyber friends to say nothing of the Springboks.

  3. There is a herd of the Highland cattle and another one of the Belted Galloways near our farm. I would like some too. I saw some miniature Belted Galloways at an ag show and tried in vain to get my Diary Farmer Husband to get some. They are so sweet and cute. It must have been the day to volunteer at parkrun 🙂 We don’t have any hills in Launceston, Killerton sounds very challenging. I went to Cornwall Park parkrun in Auckland NZ – they had a huge hill to get up! All the best with the teenagers.

  4. abradypus says:

    An ‘athoner meetup and a parkrun. My favourite!

  5. plustenner says:

    when you coming to our neck of the woods (or us to you)??

  6. Pingback: Malahide Park Run | redhenrun

Leave a Reply

