Staycation day 12

This was the weather today at Charmouth where we went in search of Fossils

DSCN3053

fortunately, although the wind was windy it was not cold as we took a hammer to the stones. Number of Fossils found ZERO, but there was a lot of nice sea weed!

DSCN3055DSCN3058

DSCN3057DSCN3056

Tonight was the Exeter 10k, I decided to enter this race as A) its close to home B)It was described as ‘flat as a pancake’! I did feel bad that I was racing during our ‘staycation’ but with the arrival of Middle Madam today with BYF, I did not feel so bad leaving hubby and baby Madam in their company.

As usual I was way too early but spent the hour before the run, talking to a fellow runner and Killerton parkrunner. Lots of club vests there, with approx 400 runners I was worried that I would be way down the pack. I did take comfort in the posters that warned people that there would be a run 7 till 830 that evening!

Carla asked me what my PB was currently. Now that is difficult to answer for two reasons 1) I am useless with numbers 2) This ‘pancake flat’ course could not be compared to the very hilly Killerton 10k or the Slay the Dragon 10K run with is mud and stiles.

For the first time EVER I am really pleased with the time I did tonight. Every mile I did under 10 minutes and the first one under 9. I even managed a sprint finish. Woo hoo

DSCN3060DSCN3061

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Staycation day 12

  1. Mavis hall says:

    Well done that girl here’s to nine minute miles ALL THE WAY!!!

  2. Well done you!
    The weather WAS pretty dreadful in Devon today wasn’t it!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    • shazruns says:

      Does that mean you are here. Will you come to parkrun or is that too far from u? More bad weather today!

      • It’s about 40 mins drive away… So not ridiculous…but my wife isn’t a runner…or a morning person…and it was her birthday yesterday…and I didn’t get her a present…. So I have not ruled it out completely but she will certainly be given final say on the day’s activities.

      • shazruns says:

        Oh dear you best make it up to her today and then maybe granted day release for Saturday. Good luck with the weather today and your little ones, know I will need it with our big ones! Darn rain!

  3. Whoo hooo! Well done! 🙂

  4. Great job. Congrats! PS. the beach photo is beautiful.

  5. Lesley says:

    Go girl!

  6. Red Hen says:

    Great going on the 10K! Love the pics. Especially the moody beach shot.

  7. fortnightflo says:

    Yippe we shall mark that as your PB then!

Leave a Reply

