Staycation day 8

The day did not start well. My alarm went off at 5:15 under my pillow and when trying to turn it off I managed to push it up over the end of the bed on to the floor behind a box, all the time it was ringing loudly and I was saying sorry to sleepy hubby over and over again! Fortunately he was asleep again before I left the room (how can he do that?). The plan required a 10 mile run, so it was off to Exmouth I went, the first time since training for VLM. It was not a great run on any front. My legs were heavy, tired, my stomach not happy at all. Exmouth is great for toilets, but not at 6 am, when they are all still closed. I did not enjoy it at all and called it a day at just under 10 miles and went home. Here’s hoping next weeks long run is better!
Madam and I headed to Crealy today, an amusement park.
This is how our day went.
Queued
Rode the roller coaster
Screamed
Queued
Slid down a slide in a dingy
Screamed
Got damp
Queued
Went on the log flume
Screamed, screamed, screamed
Got soaked
Ate
Went on a train
Queued
Slid down a different slide in a dingy
Screamed, screamed, screamed, laughed
Queued
Rode the roller coaster
Screamed
Queued
Went on the log flume
Screamed
Got drenched
Waited till dry
Went home

It was FUN but boy my throat is sore.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Staycation day 8

  1. Red Hen says:

    How on earth can you get up at 5.15 am on your holidays?!!

    • shazruns says:

      Madness I know but hubby having away day so had to be home by 8:15 and with travelling time (to get flat course) made that a necessary time, not usual believe me! (Until next weekend)

  2. plustenner says:

    totally empathise with you on the long run, mine went about the same today 😦
    glad the day ended much better than it started!

  3. Red Hen says:

    I don`t think you`re mad at all to get up at 5.15. Just super dedicated. And it will stand to you in your next race.

Leave a Reply

