Staycation day 3

It was hard crawling out of bed to run this morning, hard any day, but harder as I am meant to be on holiday AND the training plan called for hill training. Crawl out of bed I did though, hill training was as it should be-hard, then I returned home to wake the sleeping beauties with the news that it was a beautiful day!

Within an hour we were fed watered and packed, no mean feat when you consider ALL the stuff we take to the beach.

The sun was shining when we arrived at Woolacombe, but by the time we got on to the sand with the contents of the garage (excluding the motorbike) the cloud arrived, we looked at it with anguish did this mean rain?

sky

Hubby and Madam struggled in to their wet suits (this puts me off triathlon oh that and the swim bit) and headed out to the surf, not returning for an hour and a half in which I had uninterrupted reading time-heaven. Lunch was eaten, ball games played followed by Madam using the surf boards to set up hurdling practise. THEN the sun came out so it was back to the sea for her, this time with me paddling in the shallows. I partook in some people watching and came to this not very surprising conclusion, men should NEVER wear speedos but especially when their stomach hangs so low in the front that you cannot even see the swim wear, it is a sight that will traumatize me for some time yet!

We had a lovely day finished off nicely with this view as we drove home.

view

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Staycation day 3

  1. Red Hen says:

    Oh good going on getting out there for that hill run! Nice to have a chance at reading and people watching on the beach. Yep, some guys will just have to rethink their swim gear wardrobe!

  2. paigesato says:

    speedos need to go the way of the dinosaur.

  3. abradypus says:

    Thank you for that visual image.

Leave a Reply

