Week One Done-finally

This week I have managed to complete week one of my half marathon training plan. I did not do as many fast sections in the intervals on Tuesday morning at 5 am, but I did see the sun come up. Killerton parkrun was completed by madam and I yesterday, very gently as it was 20 degrees at 7 am so must have been hotter come 9 am. Todays runs almost did not happen, I woke at 5:15 and considered this too late to fit in an hour run before packing up the car for a day at the beach, but then the cat decided he wanted to go out and then the door started rattling. Sleep was not going to return so off I went across the stiles and the fields for a 6 mile run.

The beach of choice to-day was Bigbury on Sea which has Burgh Island, we recently saw it on the news and decided it looked a good place to visit.

Burgh Island with Art Deco Hotel

Burgh Island with Art Deco Hotel

The weather was not quite as we expected (thanks BBC) the wind was very strong but not cold, the sand blew like I have never seen the sand blow, I now have no need to visit the Sahara because I have lived through a sand storm. Thank goodness I no longer wear contact lenses, I would have had to leave.

DSCN2775

Madam and I headed off to explore Burgh Island.

DSCN2772

our destination was the ruins of the Chapel at the top of the hill.

The views amazing.

DSCN2787DSCN2776

Madam at the top looking out the Chapel window.

DSCN2791

Madam paddled in the sea, but it was not for me this week, too cold. A mammoth session of bat and ball was played though, until the sand blasting at my legs got too much.

Good day out but will I ever get all the sand out of my ear?

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week One Done-finally

  1. Red Hen says:

    Great going on week one! Love the pics too. And the heat we`re all enjoying right now-even if it does affect the running.

  2. Just assume from here on in, that I am always jealous of your beach visits.
    Well done on the early morning run too 🙂

Leave a Reply

