First run in a week

With Madam going to running club tonight I thought it was time I stop using the warm weather as an excuse not to train and get out there and RUN, whats god enough for an 11-year-old is good enough me for except for the reluctance to showering of course .

I was looking forward to a very slow 3 mile plod, not quite adhering to the training plan but pretty darn close. However, when I dropped Madam and her friend at Harriers the freinds Dad was there with his kit on clearly with the intention of running with me. Steve is 6 foot 2″ at least and of slim athletic build-I am not even close to either! I was worried but there was no way to go off on my own without being rude!

I made it very clear I was not speedy by any means and we set off, Steve leading, obviously, for two reasons, I was doing his route and he was faster than I wanted to be! I am pleased to say I did not embarrass myself, we ran at a fairly decent pace given the undulating course and the heat, it was certainly faster than I intended to be. At three miles I called a halt to my run, feeling the heat a little, Steve was more hardcore and continued on for a while.

Must admit it felt good to get out there again, lets hope I remember that early Thursday morning when I am next due to run.

DSCN2769

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Devon, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First run in a week

  1. Wow Sharon that picture is gorgeous! Can’t believe you’ve got a new ‘male’ running partner lol! Still enjoying your blogs just in meltdown with work and wedding part II plans so have been quite on the response front! So lovely to have the warmth but so darn difficult to run in, Felsted 10k, the Sunday just gone, was like running in a sauna, took two drinks at the first station one to drink and one to poor over my head! Am impressed with your half marathons you’ve got lined up, I’ve got one (yes just one!) in September and havn’t even found a plan yet let alone ignored it! Am waiting patiently for you to share 😉 Talk soon about a visit x

  2. Red Hen says:

    I`m hearing you! The heat-though I love, love, love it-kills my runs. Went out intending to do four miles tonight. Probably did two. Gosh, it`s warm. But lovely any other time!

  3. plustenner says:

    snap! we can do a virtual run on Thursday, what time you heading off?

Leave a Reply

