Race for Life-Exeter

or otherwise known in the shazruns household as ‘the run that started the madness’ or ‘the Shirley memorial run’.

pinkMadam and I have done Race for Life in Chelmsford and Colchester, but today was to be our first in Devon. The venue did not excite me-Westpoint-also home of the Devon County show, so basically a big undulating field. The atmosphere as ever was emotionally charged with most people running for a personal reason many with signs on their backs paying tribute to someone dear to them, mine said ‘For shirley with fond memories’ and madam’s said ‘For Dad, who has beaten it’, I always spend the run with a lump in my throat and today was no different. I think the one that hit me the most was a young girl running for her Dad who died in 2008 and was born the same year as me, kind of makes you realise how lucky you are and you should really stop sweating the small stuff.

The weather was against us, we sat and froze the hour before the run, then the minute the run started the sun came out and boy did it heat up quick. At times the grass was long and tufty, the worse kind of running surface and there was absolutely NO SHADE, Madam suffered a bit with the heat, but still managed to romp home before me in a time under 29 minutes. Despite me continually saying this was not a race, we both strove to do our best.

Disappointment at the end with the lack on of a bag which Madam had been looking forward to receiving and I could not face the Pain au Chocolat the Army cadet tried to give me, but madam made light work of hers.

medal

Two medals in one weekend that is almost as good as Mo Farah.

The afternoon was spent pressure washing the conservatory and if you ever find yourself doing the same, please mind your fingers they don’t take well to being pressure washed!

That is it Juneathon done. Tomorrow is the start of my half marathon plan, but think I might make Monday a rest day!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Race for Life-Exeter

  1. Tubontherun says:

    Ooh I like the medal this year! I have to admit, I wouldn’t do Westpoint ever again. I did it about 2 or 3 years ago and found the course so uninspiring with such a lack of crowd support (except for the last km or so). If you fancy the journey down, Plymouth’s Central Park one is quite good.

    I know what you mean about running it with a lump in your throat, emotionally and physically I am drained at the end of them!

  2. abradypus says:

    Great Juneathon running and great Juneathon blogging. Your rest day, whenever it is, will be well deserved.

  3. Red Hen says:

    Here`s to guilt free rest days! Nice work today, shame about the bag-especially for the kids who ran.

  4. fortnightflo says:

    yes have some rest!

  5. Diana says:

    I showed Ernie this posting….brought tears to his eyes!!! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

