Field Fartleks

Madam has a desire to run faster, so after school today it was time for fartleks on the playing field.

I was slightly concerned about this though, as Childline have been in to school this week and she can recite their phone number off by heart, (hooray she has learnt something this week!)

We started with long side fast, short slow, then progressed to long plus short fast with long slow, finally one long long side fast and back slow. This was interspersed with random conversation from Madam on the slow bits like ‘that tree is a nice tree shape’ to ‘is this grass or a carrot’ to ‘if I turn upside down that is apple shape’ all of which got the ‘mmm’ answer from me as I was still catching my breath. The killer one was delivered at the end of one fast section ‘Can I have Chicken Korma soup for dinner?’ as my lungs were still outside my body at this point I was tempted to hand her my mobile so she could contact Childline before I did any damage to her.

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Field Fartleks

  1. Red Hen says:

    Gosh, she`s determined! What a perfect running buddy you have there!

  2. plustenner says:

    kids eh?

  3. fortnightflo says:

    Chicken Korma soup – yuck!

Leave a Reply

