Volunteering followed by long run

This morning was my second shift volunteering at parkrun, in the hope that Madam had a better run without my presence.

Being at the end definitely gave me a different perspective on park run. I watched several runners turn up late (run had started), run to start and still get a good time (got to hate these people). I took great comfort from the fact that there are some runners who finish in a worse state than me, snot, spit, sweat everywhere, least I carry a hankie! I managed to give everyone a token without hiccup and the timers tally was the same as mine, which is always a good sign!

Madam had a much better run, her time was not a PB but was a lot better than last weeks effort and she enjoyed it-hooray-success all round. Now how to get it that we both have a good run? Any ideas gratefully received.

Unfortunately I still had a run to do. I headed out for my longest run for a while, 9 miles completed. Always amazed by how my legs can manage the miles after a little break from the distance, thank you legs.

Although the weather is less than satisfactory today I have tried not to moan about the cold, wind and rain, This is because Calgary, a city dear to my heart, a city I lived in for 10 years, has had terrible flooding. This has caused the downtown core to be closed, 100,000 people to be evacuated and of course the floods have caused huge devastation, both in Calgary and other towns in Alberta. Last night I spent some time on the web in awe of the photos and coverage, astounded by what has happened. This is not a third world country this is happening too, but whether you are rich or poor, live in a million dollar house or a shack, if you lose everything it is the same for you both, the heart ache and shock is the same. Banff’s (an hour away in the Rockies) first marathon has had to be cancelled as the flooding up there has washed away the Highway leaving no way in or out. The Calgary Stampede is due to start in less than two weeks, right now the grounds are under water. The beloved Saddledome (home to 1988 winter Olympic events) has water up to the 10th row of seats, but I have no doubt that the ‘show will go on’.

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Volunteering followed by long run

  1. plustenner says:

    puts it all in perspective.. well done on your 9 miles!

  2. paigesato says:

    my heart hurts for Calgary…

  3. zoeforman says:

    If I can’t enter a local event I like to give back volunteering as a marshal or helper . Nice one.

  4. Diana says:

    The “tough” Calgarian’s have already stated the Calgary Stampede WILL go on…,”come hell or high water”!!! That’s the new motto this year! Last year it was a huge celebration of 100 years running, they will NOT go for cancelling the show as this would be giving in. It IS shocking to watch, and it’s stunning to see the streets in the affected areas having all their damaged goods on the street/sidewalks for the garbage-man to pick up, it’s devastating….

  5. fortnightflo says:

    Oh well done you – hm have you forgotten what I look like when I finish a parkrun – spitting, sweating, swearing, vomitting…

Leave a Reply

