Day 19 in which I fell out with Mrs Garmin

Tonight I convinced my mind it was not too warm to run, I told my legs they weren’t too tired to run, I had diner prepped, housework as usual could wait, everything was set or so I thought. I failed to check with Mrs Garmin that she felt up to pounding the streets in the heat.

Obviously she is a cool weather kind of Garmin as despite clear blue skies she failed to find a signal. I sat with her on the door step trying to convince her to load but in the end lost patience and put her on whilst she dithered about reading the satellite. We headed off in to the hills and the heat. She had the cheek to try to go in to save power mode, ‘save what I muttered you’ve got nothing to save yet’, eventually at mile 1 she decided to join me! The run was hot in the sun, nice in the cool, but hard work.

I have run this route often but tonight was the first time cars and a van decided to join me on this road, by road I mean Devon country lane with grass down the middle, well not so much grass as a budding lawn.

grass

It is so narrow that when the van passed it was touch and go as to what would get injured my toes or my bum by the nettles I was squished up against. I even told the van man I was breathing in.

The views as ever were great

photobut I was glad to get home.

Miles according to Shaz 5, miles according to Mrs Garmin 4!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 19 in which I fell out with Mrs Garmin

  1. Mavis hall says:

    In our days these roads were called ‘Mavis’ roads!!

  2. paigesato says:

    oh, no shoulder to jump into for safety at all! good job sucking it in!

  3. Red Hen says:

    I`m totally pissed with Mrs Garmin too. Though she`ll never be as annoying as Mrs Runkeeper, no matter how hard she tries.
    Nice run for you there. And yep, I`m familiar with the arse-in-the-ditch scenario that goes with running country roads.

  4. Dam vans, shouldn’t be allowed to spoil nice quiet lanes like that.
    My garmin was misbehaving too last night. Gave ave pace of 13.45 min/m after 5 miles between 9 and 10!

  5. I don’t have a gamin and so don’t have these issues. I have many others, mind you.
    Well done for heading out anyway, I know in the past I’ve faffed around so much with the tech, that I’ve not gone at all.

  6. abradypus says:

    Silly garmin. 😦

Leave a Reply

