Parkrun and Gardening

This morning’s Killerton parkrun was all about getting Madam to run the whole way and to enjoy it. Within 3 minutes of the start her lace came undone which led to stress to both parties me to mutter “why did you not do it in a double knot?” (after I had to stop to let her catch up), for her to reply in with what I consider as her Mum an unsatisfactory answer which was “I don’t know!” thinking about it I am not sure what response she could have given that would have been satisfactory, indeed wonder now why I asked, except of course I was peeved and wanted her to know that!

Anyway we ran together for the first mile then she pulled away and ran her own race and beat me royally, serves me right for asking about the double knot I guess! Mission accomplished Madam enjoyed it, ran the whole way and was smiling when I eventually joined her. Roll on next week when we get to be Parkrun tourists.

Operation fence construction continued this afternoon, (no we don’t have a massive garden just very slow we like to pace ourselves!).

The spectators were in force

DSCN2525

with the beautiful Oscar being our mascot and Basil joined us for a while

DSCN2520

clearly feels safer on the fence out of Oscar’s grasp.

I am enjoying discovering what is in our new garden now that spring is sprunging! it’s a lot like the secret garden each time I go out there is something new and they are not all weeds! This blossom was a welcome surprise

blossom so that tree can stay. Was thrilled to discover we had a maplemapleand bluebellsDSCN2517. This rhododendron is prettyrand the bush is quite a nice shape unlike the one we have dug outr2so that can stay. I am eager for this to bloomDSCN2530looks like it might be a nice deep redDSCN2531whatever it maybe. Then we have the triffid

DSCN2529

no idea what the finish result will look like when this opens up, if indeed it opens. I love the Clematis that is at the bottom of the garden (You see not totally without flower knowledge) but its survival will depend on the sheep who do their level best to eat it.

DSCN2518

My Grandad was a Gardener of this Estate in Surrey

pinewoods(changed a little since his day) and apparently his advice was not to do anything drastic for the first year you are in a new house in regards to the removal of plants. Sorry Grandad today we cut down two more trees one was a dead silver birch (I think he may forgive me for that) the other was crowding others. Total bushes removed 6 (oops) but honest Grandad it looks so much better now.

Tomorrow? More painting. More fence construction. Oh and a long run my first since VLM

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Parkrun and Gardening

  1. ilovelucca says:

    oscar is looking very majestic, i must say….Basil looks like my minnie cat….run sounds good for tomorrow…i am going to test out the leg on a longer run today…

  2. Why didn’t you do a double knot?…because err…. No.. You’re right.. There is no acceptable answer.
    Wow! You know the names and stuff of your plants.
    I have a garden. Its plants are as follows:

    The green one with pink flowers.
    The green one with blue flowers.
    The tree.
    The small one (green) with red flowers.
    The small one (green) with white flowers.
    The dead one.

    And to be honest, being colour blind, I probably get some of he above list mixed up anyway.

  3. Your Oscar looks so much like my Mintie! Love a ginger moggy. I saw a photo of the finishing chute of Killerton parkrun on facebook this week and thought of you, it looks like a pretty place to run. Love your garden. My clematis has almost shed its leaves now – autumn is in full force here but still lovely.

  4. plustenner says:

    your garden looks amazing!

  5. abradypus says:

    Cats and the promise of parkrun tourism. Does it get better than that?

  6. fortnightflo says:

    Ah beautiful cats and flowers! You sure did a lot of work, must be the equivalent to at least an hours run!

Leave a Reply

