Back to Killerton

Overnight I aged by 20 years. I woke with a stiff neck and shoulders, I felt completely fine till I tried to get out of bed then it hit me, I was very tempted to lay back down and stay in bed, yes it was that bad.

That 10K run I have today is going to be fun I thought, but soon noticed that actually moving around was fine, the hard part was sitting and then getting up. I set about the housework and washing.

Killerton was hosting a Relish Running event, where you could run 5K, 10K or half marathon. I will be forever grateful that I went the sensible route and opted for the 10K. Madam did the 5K on her own, this caused me some concern as would she see the 5K signs and follow them or would she get lost. Panic not mother, it was fine, very well sign posted, very well marshalled. Oh my it was hilly though and with its various kissing gates and stiles it is not a course to run if you wanted a PB. I walked an awful lot which is something I don’t normally do but honestly there was no way I could have run up some of those slopes unless I was a mountain goat-which I’m not. Unfortunately towards the end any slight slope had me walking, my legs were like jelly.

Here are the graphics from Mrs Garmin…..

hills

These are the mile by mile gain and losses, mile 5 was my second fastest mile. Why would that be?

gain and loss

I had not realised we were drawing a picture of a man with a very large nose!

face

I finished and Madam who was waiting with hubby ran the finishing straight with me eager to tell me about her run. We await the official results but she tells me she came 5th!! Will let you know!

Verdict:-hard route, well organised, pretty, I need to do more hill work.

Medal…

photo

Amazing!

The neck was fine until I stopped, but on the upside definitely can’t paint any fence today, sick note granted. (Hooray)

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Back to Killerton

  1. I used to go to the occasional outdoor jazz concert at Killerton house. Lovely place πŸ™‚
    Well done for doing a poorly 10k.
    I hope it was wise.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Nice bling and very cool course pic! Madam did very well – sometimes I think you worry about her too much…she’s a good kid with her head screwed on right x

  3. Those hills are flipping scarey!! wow! well done for going the distance think I would have taken one look and gone home crying! love the medal πŸ™‚

  4. ps also love the face in the route – ohhh a new art project is forming me thinks!! pps well done little Madam! the boys are running scared πŸ˜‰

  5. zoecakes says:

    What a pretty medal! πŸ™‚

  6. abradypus says:

    Sounds incredible πŸ™‚

  7. Red Hen says:

    Go you!Some great drawing there!Love the medal!

  8. plustenner says:

    Love the medal – but not the profile of the course πŸ˜€

  9. Mavis hall says:

    Well done you two – how About little madams medal? Did she get one? And well done to ‘Hubby’ whoever he is ( ! ) for being in attendance to pick up the pieces! Who knows it is a big nose! Much luvxx

  10. Haha great garmin pic πŸ˜‰ Congrats on finishing, the route looks pretty hefty i.e. hilly. Thankfully my first ever 10k will be lovely and flat!

Leave a Reply

