New balance good form running

SX media asked me to a demonstration of ‘good form running’ at the London Marathon Expo. I was keen to go as am very aware that my running is not exactly ‘good form’!

As I was suffering from toothache, this coupled with nausea and nerves being so close to the Marathon my write-up will not be as comprehensive as the other bloggers that attended. For more detail and sense click here or here (the last one, when she gets around to it come on Carla).

I eyed the treadmill suspiciously keen NOT to go on it in front of everyone, the desire not to show myself up being very great, fortunately they got a volunteer quite easily. Now I could sit and relax and watch the action.

I was horrified by how much needs to be remembered whilst pounding the streets as if remembering to put one foot in front of the other is not enough!

  • Head up
  • Gaze forward
  • Arms swing easily
  • Elbows 90 degrees
  • Try for a mid foot strike
  • Dont pound
  • Aim for 180 strides per minute
  • Lean slightly forward

I love that all of it absolutely made sense to me and now that the training is not so intensive I can hopefully work on some Good Form Running. New Balance are offering running analysis in 15 stores that stock their trainers, they will give you feed back and you can then return at any point to see how you are doing. I think this is a great idea and you don’t even have to buy their trainers to get this, but fear it won’t make it to Devon quite yet.

Then it was on to the fun part-the trainers….

Now London Marathon number One I used New balance trainers and for number 3 also, I find them hard-wearing and the toe and bunion do not make a hole in them quite as easily as they seem to with the Asics.

So many trainers, so many colours. Some girls like shoes but for me they are a nightmare to buy, with wide feet it’s not easy and has always been the case, now if I find a comfortable pair I buy two, but buying trainers is far easier. All I have to do is choose the colour!!

I like these

DSCN2298these are Garmin trainers! No GPS installed!

Then I loved these with the flat matching lacesDSCN2300

Then there were these for the Boston marathon

DSCN2302with this detailing on the backDSCN2303not sure I like the colour though!

Came away with the trainers released for the London Marathon, more details on them will follow when I have taken them for a spin.

 

 

 

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New balance good form running

  1. Red Hen says:

    I am very interested in your runner reviews. I love my Brooks Adrenaline. I`ve got flat, broad spogs. Yep, I think I get that whole running form thing. And I do try, but at the end of any race I look like crap because-I think-I still need to develop better core strength to keep me upright.

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Life just too bluddy busy at the mo – catch up planned on Saturday after run, housework, decorating, shopping etc etc. great pics x

  3. Not really a fan of the color of the Boston shoes either. I was thinking they should be blue and yellow since that is Boston Marathon colors.

    Thanks for giving me more to think about when I run. 😉

  4. Thanks for letting me know. I’ll check at the New Balance store on Boylston St. You can never get enough running advice.

  5. plustenner says:

    like the colourful laces ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

