Mind Games

I realised recently that I had not sorted out some mind games to get me through the marathon, something I have done previously, then I read a ‘tip’ that someone had put on Runners World site and that was to dedicate each mile to someone.

Over the weekend I have compiled my list, trying to match people with mile numbers for a reason to help my memory on the day. Not everyone on the list will know they have a dedicated mile or even that I am running the London Marathon, but I will know and that will be enough to help me pass the miles.

  • Mile One-The best running buddy in the world gets this mile as she will be starting from the Red start and will be in my thoughts, wait for me Elaine!
  • Mile Two-The Millers running the marathon from the blue start, I admire that they have managed to both train for the marathon juggling twins, work and each other!
  • Mile ThreeParkrun, can’t begin to tell you how amazing this organisation is and all run by volunteers, thanks to them all, I love trying to get a PB each week
  • Mile FourLouise queen of the parkrun, and conqueror of the Ultra!(each 5k strays in to the fourth mile after all)
  • Mile Five-Younger Sharon who I worked with for five years at Sainsburys and who will be a lifelong friend as long as she does not keep reminding me that she is the ‘younger shaz’
  • Mile Six-Target Tracker only right that I dedicate a mile to the company that pays my wages, that in turn enables me to enter races and buy trainers
  • Mile Seven-Lesley my dear friend and Godmother of little Madam
  • Mile Eight-Garb my friend and dog lover
  • Mile Nine-The Higgins Family who employed me as a Nanny when I went to Canada and who have remained friends
  • Mile Ten-Carla whom I ran the Sandy 10 miles with shortly after she started running, who would have thought she would still be at it, with a name like fortnightflo
  • some two years later
  • Mile Eleven-Little madam-she turned 11 this year
  • Mile Twelve-Long suffering hubby-married 12  years this year
  • Mile Thirteen-My friend Pam (and godmother to big Madam) without whom I would never had made it through my divorce-born 13th day of May
  • Mile Fourteen-Caroline F-anyone who has sat next to me for four years deserves a medal let alone a dedicated mile, born 14th May.
  • Mile Fifteen–Natalie Jones paralympian swimmer whom I worked with when she was 15 and represented GB in the Sydney games she is a true inspiration as her team mates were during last year’s London Paralympian games
  • Mile Sixteen-Dawn my oldest friend (and godmother to big Madam)  who is putting up with me for the night before VLM, we met when I was sixteen and she won’t mind my grumpiness or stressiness  (I hope)
  • Mile Seventeen-my brother who ran the marathon in an incredibly impressive time when he was 19 years old, must get him to do another! He was born on the 17th day of March
  • Mile Eighteen-The pupils of Stanway Secondary school whom I worked with before I had little Madam, I think of them often and wonder what they are all doing now
  • Mile Nineteen-Middle madam who is  19 years old
  • Mile Twenty-Bloggers-I am not a fan of ‘social media’ but love that bloggers the world over offer encouragement and share stories, thanks to you all.
  • Mile Twenty-One-My Grandparents who were married on the 21st August and would be amazed I was running at all let alone 26 miles
  • Mile Twenty-Two-Big madam whose birthday is marathon day along with the Queen’s and will be 22 yrs old
  • Mile Twenty-Three-Alma who has just completed the Brighton marathon and will hopefully see me at mile 23
  • Mile Twenty-Four-Shirley whose fault it is that I run
  • Mile Twenty-Five-My Mum
  • Mile Twenty-Six-My Dad gets the last little bit as he would have walked the same stretch just a few times in his life!

Now all I have to do is remember all of that!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mind Games

  1. ok now I’m welling up …… You will be able to feel the tension release in that first mile from over in the charity pen – there will be a small troubled grey cloud lifting into the sky right above my head as the adrenalin kicks in! (well that’s what I’m hoping anyway 😉 Awesome idea Sharon, love it, it’s a great way of concentrating thoughts into positives through our families and the people who are in our lives ……. oh gosh welling again, my age and a marathon – not a good mix ….. !

  2. plustenner says:

    that is so cool!! see you at mile 23 xxx

  3. What a beautiful idea 🙂

  4. Michelle S says:

    Am counting days and will count miles(maybe be middle of the night here though) whilst you run…
    You will be ” SWEET AS………..(long pause) MATE!!”…a Kiwi saying to keep you going…
    Mr Puss Puss et al will be thinking of you…But they are a little worried that you may get distracted and not feed Oscar at the usual time:) …
    21st here you come…

  5. We’ll be wishing London a safe marathon.

  6. Mavis hall says:

    Mile 24 and Mile 25 are very proud of you and send love and all good wishes for ‘a good one’

  7. Mavis hall says:

    Sorry that should have been Mile 25 And Mile 26 – walkers were always slower!!

  8. zoecakes says:

    What a lovely idea! 🙂 At least trying to remember all those people should take your mind off any running pains!

Leave a Reply

