Past, Present and Furture of my VLM

PAST

I first ran the London marathon 8 years ago in 2005 to mark my fortieth year. I thought at this point of my life, that I had not accomplished much, (raising a child on my own for a few years, rebuilding my life after a divorce, changing my career, remarrying and having little madam clearly did not count as accomplishments!). Being a relative newcomer to running I followed The Non-Runners Marathon training plan, this is a brilliant book and I read this the summer before I entered the race, it made me believe I could do it. I did do it and must admit enjoyed it too! Time 4.:37.

In 2007 the kind people at FLM gave me a ballot place. This time I trained following a Runners World plan. This was the hottest year on record for the London Marathon, 22.2 degrees. I can confirm that it was hot. Along the embankment I remember thinking never again this is horrid. Time 4:30

PRESENT

VLM gave me a place this year as they HAD to, they had turned me down since my 2008 entry, I have a fine selection of reject jacket and fleeces! This time I am following a BUPA intermediate training plan. (see above) What has changed since my first one? I am older, Flora became Virgin, I am 9 years older, I work full-time, I am older. What time am I aiming for? Well this fluctuates from finishing to ………….. Who knows? What I do know now and did not know then is that Marathon 1 and 2 were actually not bad times. Madam says ‘don’t worry Mum, just don’t walk and finish, that’s all that matters’ also I found this in another of my many running books and will try to pack it for the 21st

‘By getting to the starting line, you’ve already place yourself in the top echelon of athletes. You may not be in the top-tier of that race, but as a long distant athlete, you are fitter, better trained and more disciplined than 99 per cent of the population who have ever lived. Remind yourself of that when you start to obsess about your pace or finish time’

I will try, I will finish, I will try to enjoy!

Future

After a bad long run I recently came home and told hubby ‘a la Steve Redgrave’ that if I mention marathons again he should shoot me. However between you and me I will always enter VLM just in case. As to other Marathons (there are others you know) I don’t think so unless of course I can find one to run on my 50th birthday, but this is a secret as I can’t be certain that hubby has not purchased a gun recently!

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Past, Present and Furture of my VLM

  1. loving that quote!
    and yes those times are impressive and I’m pretty sure your 2013 time will be equally impressive 🙂

    xx

  2. Red Hen says:

    Love this post. Love the quote too, about getting to the start of the marathon. If you can `t do VLM consider Dublin in Oct. About 14,000 to it, it`s also a PB course AND fantastic support along the way.

  3. Love the quote and trying to remember that as my first marathon gets closer. And great post. I can totally relate.

  4. Fantastic post 🙂 with the determination coming through in your post I’m sure you will suceed.

  5. plustenner says:

    I used that book for last years’ marathon, it is brilliant! Love the post, and will see you zooming past at mile 23 xx

  6. emmarossruns says:

    I love that comment, it’s so true, what ever happens in 2 weeks time we’ll be there and so many people won’t be and certainly won’t understand why we want to be! My training really hasn’t gone to plan, but the fact that I know I’ve tried my hardest will get me round.
    Your times are great, faster than the 2 I’ve done before in Edinburgh – I was wanting to do 4:30 this year, but it looks like I’m going to have to re-enter for another year to get that opportunity! You know you can never truly say never again!!

  7. abradypus says:

    You’ll rock… And no doubt get a ballot place for the next three years in a row 😉

  8. Such brilliant acheivements already.You’ve worked so hard for this one I hope it all comes together on the day for a really good run.

  9. fortnightflo says:

    Oooh that quote is from the non-runner guide isn’t it – I said it to myself a lot last year. You are going to smash it I just know it. YOU ARE A MARATHONER!

Leave a Reply

