Last long one before which I should have taken Imodium!

I really don’t like loosing an hour as seem to spend the entire day chasing my tail playing catch up, today was no different.

I was up early (old time) due to a dodgy tummy, but hoped this was a good sign for the run, getting things out of the way, so to speak (sorry). After porridge and raspberries I left madam egg hunting and hubby in bed and set off to Exmouth to repeat last weeks run with maybe a bit added on.

The car was left looking at this view, lucky car.

20130331-182847.jpg

It was cold, this soon took its told on my bladder, fortunately the toilets were nearby. Unfortunately at miles 7 and 13 I needed to use the facilities again, my stomach was not happy at all. It just felt sore.
Mile 10 I turned around to head back and spotted this sign, it did make me smile, ‘nearly there’ only 9 miles to go!

20130331-183832.jpg
The home trek was tougher than last weeks due mostly to the strong cold wind I was now running in to and the realisation that my legs had, had enough probably because this was their 5th running day in a row, due to missing Tuesdays run and playing catch up.
I made 19 miles which will do, I never expected or wanted to make the called for 20-22 mile run, so am pleased I managed 19 but not pleased with how I felt at the end!
Mrs Garmin has a great feature where you can compare two runs and as I did a similar route to last weeks run I had a look at this. It was very interesting, miles 1, 2, 3, 4, 9 and 10 were faster than last week with mile 6 being exactly the same pace, overall I was 10 seconds slower per mile, which actually given the condition of my tum was not bad at all.
The couch was calling my name very loudly when I got in, in fact so loudly I daren’t go near it as I knew if I succumbed I would not move for the rest of the day. Instead I helped hubby dismantle a wardrobe and made Burgundy Beef Stew with Horseradish Dumplings for dinner. Before settling down to watch the Boat Race with a cider! Well earned.

20130331-185322.jpg

About shazruns

I have been running since 2004 when I decided to do the Race for Life, as a close friend was terminally ill with cancer. Following that I did a couple of 10km at Leeds castle and Sandringham. Then in 2005 ran my first London marathon, then another in 2007 in blistering temperatures. I have entered the London marathon every year since but have been rejected, am now find maintaining my fitness & motivation hard, so when the email came through about Janathon I thought why not! Am hoping this helps with fitness, motivation and weight loss!! Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in virgin london marathon 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last long one before which I should have taken Imodium!

  1. Michelle S says:

    well done you….taper off now? 3 weeks to go???
    woooo…
    I think i am going to have to pull finger out and do a full ….i have a mental block about it:)…
    scrummy dinner…

  2. fortnightflo says:

    Oh wow the dumplings look amazing – why are you posting about food so much lately – don’t you know I’m on a diet?!?!?

  3. plustenner says:

    well done!! must admit am getting a bit bored of running into icy headwinds 🙂
    enjoy the taper x

  4. abradypus says:

    18 miles after five straight days of running is impressive. Imagine what you’ll be like once you’ve tapered!

Leave a Reply

